CHARTER TOWNSHIP OF MADISON MADISON TOWNSHIP HALL

3804 S. ADRIAN HIGHWAY

PLANNING COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING
December 19, 2024

7:00 p.m.

7:00 p.m. Chairperson Johnson called the meeting to order and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

ROLL CALL

Planning commission members present: Chairperson Michelle Johnson, Vice Chairperson Rodney Meeks, Secretary Amy Hepker-Wilson, Dale Thielan, and Reid Moden (Alt.). A quorum was established.

Planning Commission members absent: Rusty Benschoter, Joyce Holtz, Richard June.

Also in attendance: David Rincon (Building/Zoning official), Ryan Rank (Township Supervisor)

APPROVAL OF March 28, 2024, Regular meeting minutes:

Motion Vice-Chair Meeks, seconded by Chairperson Johnson to approve the minutes from 3/28/24. Motion carried 5-0

PUBLIC COMMENT – agenda items only: None

NEW BUSINESS

2025 Meeting Schedule

Following discussion by all attending planning commission members. Vice Chair Meeks made a motion to have meetings on the 4th Thursday of the month at 7pm, with regular meetings scheduled for January, April, July and October. Secretary Hepker-Wilson seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

PUBLIC COMMENT: Items Not on the Agenda: Planning Commission member Thielan expressed concerns over Marijuana grow ops/dispensaries, Dave is looking into these concerns.

REPORTS:

Chairperson Johnson- Scheduling Calendar

Zoning Official – updated commission on new building projects in township and no planning commission advice needed at this time but will be coming to us in the future.

Township Official-Supervisor Rank will be the planning commissions primary contact, his door is open for questions and concerns, his plans are to better meetings by making sure we will have all we need to make educated, informed decisions in a more efficient and streamlined way. The township website is also going to be going live and will be regularly updated.

ADJOURNMENT: Motion Johnson, seconded by Hepker-Wilson to adjourn. Motion passed 5-0. The meeting officially adjourned at 7:31pm.

Respectfully submitted

Amy Hepker-Wilson, Planning Commission Secretary