Marshall Planning Commission Report to City Council – Request for Rezoning 201 Legion Field Road, City of Marshall, Lyon County, Minnesota

WHEREAS, the office of the City of Marshall Zoning Administrator received an application dated June 10, 2025, for rezoning from R-1 Low Density Residential District to R-4 Higher Density Multiple Family Residence District for the property located at 201 Legion Field Road, and

WHEREAS, the applicant for the rezoning is the property owner the City of Marshall, and

WHEREAS, notice required pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 462.357 including the time, place and purpose of the hearing was published in the official newspaper at least ten days prior to the day of the hearing; and

WHEREAS, notice required pursuant to Minnesota Statutes Section 462.357 was mailed at least ten days before the day of the hearing to each owner of affected property and property situated wholly or partly within 350 feet of the property to which the variance adjustment permit relates; and

WHEREAS, City staff representatives from the Community Planning Department reviewed the application for the rezoning; and

WHEREAS, the 2040 Comprehensive Plan shows high density residential use for this area, meaning over 12 dwelling units per acre; and

WHEREAS, the public hearing was scheduled for July 9, 2025, and was held as scheduled. Staff presented the above facts, and the Planning Commission discussed the rezoning request and heard from the applicant; and

WHEREAS, the Planning Commission has evaluated all applicable considerations and finds and determines that rezoning as requested is consistent with the current Comprehensive Plan and will further City development.

NOW THEREFORE, it is recommended by the Planning Commission to the Marshall City Council that rezoning from R-1 Low density residential District to R-4 Higher density multiple family residence District be approved as recommended by staff. The motion offered by and seconded by , and declared carried on the following vote:

Ayes: Nays: Abstained: Passed:

Marshall Planning Commission

By: Cathy Lee Its: Chair