CITY OF MARSHALL HOUSING AND REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY MEETING M I N U T E S

Tuesday, December 27, 2022

The special meeting of the Housing and Redevelopment Authority was held on December 27, 2022, in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 344 West Main Street. The meeting was called to order at 6:48 P.M. by Chairman Robert Byrnes. In addition to Byrnes the following members were present: John DeCramer, Russ Labat, James Lozinski, Amanda Schroeder, Craig Schafer, and Steve Meister. Absent: None. Staff present included: Sharon Hanson, Executive Director;; Jason Anderson, Director of Public Works/ City Engineer; E.J. Moberg, Director of Administrative Services and Steven Anderson, City Clerk.

Consider Approval of the Minutes

Motion made by Board Member Lozinski, Seconded by Board Member Labat to approve the minutes from August 29, 2022. Voting Yea: Chairman Byrnes, Board Member Schroeder, Board Member DeCramer, Board Member Labat, Board Member Lozinski, Board Member Schafer, Board Member Meister. The motion **Carried. 7-0**

Resolution Approving Adoption of a Spending Plan

As part of the omnibus tax bill enacted in July 2021, state statute 469.176 was amended, giving Minnesota communities temporary flexibility to use unobligated increment from existing tax increment districts to help stimulate private development that would not otherwise commence without the assistance before December 31, 2025. The bill states that municipalities may provide loans, interest rate subsidies, or assistance in any form (including an equity or similar investment in a private project) to private development, if it consists of new construction or substantial rehabilitation of buildings and ancillary facilities and if doing so will create or retain jobs in the State (including construction jobs). Authorities are required to develop a written spending plan that details the use of the unobligated increment and authorizes the transfer(s), approve a resolution authorizing the transfer(s), and send a copy of the spending plan to the Office of the State Auditor. The temporary authority to transfer the unobligated increment expires on December 31, 2022, and the transferred increment must be spent by December 31, 2025.

Motion made by Board Member Schafer, Seconded by Board Member DeCramer to approve Resolution 22-006 adoption of a spending plan. Voting Yea: Chairman Byrnes, Board Member Schroeder, Board Member DeCramer, Board Member Labat, Board Member Lozinski, Board Member Schafer, Board Member Meister. The motion **Carried. 7-0**

Adjourn

At 6:49 P.M., Motion made by Board Member DeCramer, Seconded by Board Member Labat to adjourn. Voting Yea: Chairman Byrnes, Board Member Schroeder, Board Member DeCramer, Board Member Labat, Board Member Lozinski, Board Member Schafer, Board Member Meister. The motion **Carried. 7-0**

	Robert J. Byrnes
ATTEST:	Chairman
Sharon Hanson Executive Director	