

## MINUTES NO. 2024-02-SP SPECIAL CALLED MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MADISON, ALABAMA September 24, 2024

The Madison City Council met for a special called meeting on Tuesday, September 24, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Madison Municipal Complex, Madison, Alabama. Noting that a quorum was present, the meeting was called to order at 5:30p.m. by Council President Pro Tem John Seifert.

The following elected governing officials were in attendance

Mayor Paul Finley	Present
Council District No. 1 Maura Wroblewski	Present
Council District No. 2 Connie Spears	Present
Council District No. 3 Teddy Powell	Absent
Council District No. 4 Greg Shaw	Present
Council District No. 5 Ranae Bartlett	Absent
Council District No. 6 Karen Denzine	Present
Council District No. 7 John Seifert	Present

City Officials in attendance were: City Clerk-Treasurer Lisa D. Thomas, Deputy City Clerk-Treasurer Kerri Sulyma, City Attorney Megan Zingarelli, Senior Human Resources Coordinator Mia Powers, Facilities Director Gerald Smith, Information Technology Director Chris White, Information Technology Coordinator Toby Jenkins, Economic and External Affairs Officer Traci Gillespie, Director of Development Services Mary Beth Broeren, Director of Engineering Michael Johnson, Director of Finance Roger Bellomy, Deputy Court Clerk Beth Bellomy, City Manager Steve Smith, and Police Chief Johnny Gandy.

Public in attendance: Margi Daly

The Special Session meeting was opened with Council President Pro Tem John Seifert thanking the public for bringing forward any comments that they've had throughout the budget process.

Council President Pro Tem John Seifert presented Resolution No 2024-274-R:

## RESOLUTION NO 2024-274-R: ADOPTING THE ANNUAL OPERATING BUDGET FOR CITY OF MADISON FOR OCTOBER 1, 2024 AND ENDING SEPTEMBER 30, 2025

<u>Council Member Spears moved to approve Resolution No. 2024-274-R.</u> Council Member Shaw seconded. The vote was taken and recorded as follows:

Minutes No. 2024-02-SP September 24, 2024 Page 1 of 4

Council Member Maura Wroblewski	Aye
Council Member Connie Spears	Aye
Council Member Teddy Powell	Absent
Council Member Greg Shaw	Aye
Council Member Ranae Bartlett	Absent
Council Member Karen Denzine	Aye
Council Member John Seifert	Aye

Council Member Maura Wroblewski thanked Director of Finance Roger Bellomy, the Mayor's Office, and the Finance Committee for the hard work they put into the budget. She also thanked the Mayor's office for their support in the beginning the funding of the Huntsville/Brownsferry Roundabout. Ms. Wroblewski also thanked Police Chief Johnny Gandy for his support of the SWAT vehicle and the Director of Facilities Gerald Smith for the Animal Services building. She closed with thanking City Attorney Megan Zingarelli for continuing to help Human Resources with the compensation package to ensure it would be ready on time.

Council Member Connie Spears expressed her excitement about the new budget. She thanked City Attorney Megan Zingarelli for all of her hard work in making it possible. Ms. Spears pointed out that all of the Capital Improvement Projects that were requested made it into the budget. Ms. Spears also expressed that she feels this is a very solid budget with very appropriate numbers.

Council President Pro Tem John Seifert thanked Council Member Connie Spears and the rest of the Finance Committee for everyone's hard work in completing the budget on time, and before the start of the fiscal year.

Council Member Karen Denzine expressed her excitement with the new budget. She explained she feels the employees deserve the compensation increase and feels they will really benefit from them.

Mayor Finley explained the process if the resolutions pass. He explained that the budgets would be posted on the City website within about a week.

## RESOLUTION NO. 2024-290-R: ADOPTING A LIST OF CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROJECTS TO BE CONSTRUCTED AND FUNDED FROM FUND 38

<u>Council Member Shaw moved to approve Resolution No. 2024-290-R.</u> Council Member Spears seconded. The vote was taken and recorded as follows:

Council Member Maura Wroblewski	Aye
Council Member Connie Spears	Aye
Council Member Teddy Powell	Absent
Council Member Greg Shaw	Aye
Council Member Ranae Bartlett	Absent
Council Member Karen Denzine	Aye
Council Member John Seifert	Aye

Motion carried

Minutes No. 2024-02-SP September 24, 2024 Page 2 of 4

## **ADJOURNMENT**

<u>Having no further business to discuss Council Member Wroblewski moved to adjourn</u>. The roll call vote was taken and recorded as follows:

Council Member Maura Wroblewski	Aye
Council Member Connie Spears	Aye
Council Member Teddy Powell	Absent
Council Member Greg Shaw	Aye
Council Member Ranae Bartlett	Absent
Council Member Karen Denzine	Aye
Council Member John Seifert	Aye

Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:39 p.m.

Minutes No. 2024-02-SP September 24, 2024 Page 3 of 4

Minutes No. 2024-02-SP, dated September 24<sup>th</sup>, 2024, read, approved and adopted this 14<sup>th</sup> day of October 2024.

Council Member Maura Wroblewski District One Council Member Connie Spears District Two Council Member Teddy Powell District Three Council Member Greg Shaw District Four Council Member Ranae Bartlett **District Five** Council Member Karen Denzine District Six Council Member John Seifert District Seven Paul Finley, Mayor

Lisa D. Thomas City Clerk-Treasurer

Concur:

Attest:

Myranda Staples Recording Secretary

Minutes No. 2024-02-SP September 24, 2024 Page 4 of 4