

MINUTES NO. 2022-01-SP SPECIAL CALLED MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MADISON, ALABAMA October 19, 2022

The Madison City Council met for a special called meeting on Wednesday, October 19, 2022, at 7:23 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Madison Municipal Complex, Madison, Alabama. Noting that a quorum was present, the meeting was called to order at 7:23 p.m. by Council President Greg Shaw.

The following elected governing officials were in attendance

| Mayor Paul Finley | Present |
|---|---------|
| Council District No. 1 Maura Wroblewski | Present |
| Council District No. 2 Connie Spears | Present |
| Council District No. 3 Teddy Powell | Absent |
| Council District No. 4 Greg Shaw | Present |
| Council District No. 5 Ranae Bartlett | Present |
| Council District No. 6 Karen Denzine | Present |
| Council District No. 7 John Seifert | Present |

City Officials in attendance were: City Clerk-Treasurer Lisa D. Thomas, City Clerk Administrative Assistant Mari Bretz, City Attorney Brian Kilgore, Information Technology Coordinator Toby Jenkins, Information Technology Support Technician Garrett Gillott, Fire Chief David Bailey, Revenue Director Cameron Grounds, Director of Development Services Mary Beth Broeren, and City Administrator Steve Smith

RESOLUTION NO. 2022-286-R: AUTHORIZING THE MAYOR TO EXECUTE AN AGREEMENT WITH CLIFT HOME PLACE, LLC

Council Member Seifert moved to approve Resolution No. 2022-286-R. Council Member Wroblewski seconded. Council President Shaw asked for any discussion. Council Member Bartlett asked City Attorney Brian Kilgore if the draft for the letter agreement has been sign by Mr. Breland. City Attorney Brian Kilgore replied that it had not been executed in advance of the meeting tonight. Council Member Bartlett received a question from Outside Council R. Preston Bolt Jr. about amending paragraph 1, in the letter agreement to include two options for the funding agreement. City Attorney Brian Kilgore agreed to the amendment.

Council Member Bartlett moved to amend the current motion to approve the letter agreement by adding the words "or to pay directly the principal and interest on the existing district bond" before "(the "Funding Agreement")" on paragraph (1). Council Member Seifert seconded. The vote was taken and recorded for the amendment as follows:

| Council Member Maura Wroblewski | Aye |
|---------------------------------|--------|
| Council Member Connie Spears | Aye |
| Council Member Teddy Powell | Absent |
| Council Member Greg Shaw | Aye |
| Council Member Ranae Bartlett | Aye |
| Council Member Karen Denzine | Aye |
| Council Member John Seifert | Aye |

Motion carried

The vote was taken and recorded for Resolution No. 2022-286-R.

| Council Member Maura Wroblewski | Aye |
|---------------------------------|--------|
| Council Member Connie Spears | Aye |
| Council Member Teddy Powell | Absent |
| Council Member Greg Shaw | Aye |
| Council Member Ranae Bartlett | Aye |
| Council Member Karen Denzine | Aye |
| Council Member John Seifert | Aye |

Motion carried

Council President Shaw asked if there was any other discussion.

Mayor Finley thanked Financial Advisor and President of Rice Advisory, LLC Rush Rice, Outside Council R. Preston Bolt Jr., Council President Shaw, and Council Member Bartlett for their time on this matter. Council President Shaw thanked the Mayor's office for all their work on this matter as well.

ADJOURNMENT

<u>Having no further business to discuss Council Member Wroblewski moved to adjourn.</u>
The roll call vote was taken and recorded as follows:

| Council Member Maura Wroblewski | Aye |
|---------------------------------|--------|
| Council Member Connie Spears | Aye |
| Council Member Teddy Powell | Absent |
| Council Member Greg Shaw | Aye |
| Council Member Ranae Bartlett | Aye |
| Council Member Karen Denzine | Aye |
| Council Member John Seifert | Aye |
| | |

Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:29 p.m.

| Minutes No. 2022-01-SP, dated Octo 14 th day of November 2022. | ober 19 th , 2022, read, approved and adopted this |
|--|---|
| | Council Member Maura Wroblewski District One |
| | Council Member Connie Spears District Two |
| | Council Member Teddy Powell District Three |
| | Council Member Greg Shaw District Four |
| | Council Member Ranae Bartlett District Five |
| | Council Member Karen Denzine District Six |
| Concur: | Council Member John Seifert District Seven |
| Paul Finley, Mayor Attest: | |
| Lisa D. Thomas City Clerk-Treasurer | Mari Bretz Recording Secretary |