

MINUTES NO. 2023-01-SP SPECIAL CALLED MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MADISON, ALABAMA May 16, 2023

The Madison City Council met for a special called meeting on Tuesday, May 16, 2023, at 12:00 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Madison Municipal Complex, Madison, Alabama. Noting that a quorum was present, the meeting was called to order at 12:01p.m. by Council President Ranae Bartlett.

The following elected governing officials were in attendance

Absent
Present
Present
Absent
Present
Present
Present
Absent

City Officials in attendance were: City Clerk-Treasurer Lisa D. Thomas, Deputy City Clerk-Treasurer Kerri Sulyma, City Clerk Administrative Assistant Mari Bretz, Municipal Records Coordinator Lisa Ritz, and City Attorney Brian Kilgore.

Public in attendance: Jocelyn Broer, Margi Daly, Jennifer Coe

City Clerk-Treasurer Lisa D. Thomas appeared before Council to go over the following provisional ballots that were opened and counted as stated:

County/District	<u>Provisional ballot count</u> 0-provisional ballots	
Madison County (all districts)		
Limestone County (district 2)	2-Yes	1-No (1-No was uncured)
Limestone County (district 4)	0-Yes	1-No

City Clerk-Treasurer Lisa D. Thomas added that out of the five Limestone County provisional ballots that were counted, the Limestone County Board of Registrars approved four out of the five as valid and cured. With no other provisional votes, City Clerk-Treasurer Lisa D. Thomas presented council with Resolution No. 2023-176-R.

RESOLUTION NO. 2023-176-R: CANVASSING AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF THE SPECIAL MUNICIPAL ELECTION HELD ON MAY 9, 2023 (COUNCIL-MANAGER FORM OF GOVERNMENT)

<u>Council Member Spears moved to approve Resolution No. 2023-176-R.</u> Council Member Denzine seconded. The vote was taken and recorded as follows:

Council Member Maura Wroblewski Aye
Council Member Connie Spears Aye
Council Member Teddy Powell Absent
Council Member Greg Shaw Aye
Council Member Ranae Bartlett Aye
Council Member Karen Denzine Aye
Council Member John Seifert Absent

Motion carried

ADJOURNMENT

Having no further business to discuss Council Member Wroblewski moved to adjourn. The roll call vote was taken and recorded as follows:

Council Member Maura Wroblewski Aye
Council Member Connie Spears Aye
Council Member Teddy Powell Absent
Council Member Greg Shaw Aye
Council Member Ranae Bartlett Aye
Council Member Karen Denzine Aye
Council Member John Seifert Absent

Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 12:12 p.m.

Minutes No. 2023-01-SP, dated May day of May 2023.	16 th , 2023, read, approved and adopted this 22 nd
	Council Member Maura Wroblewski District One
	Council Member Connie Spears District Two
	Council Member Teddy Powell District Three
	Council Member Greg Shaw District Four
	Council Member Ranae Bartlett District Five
	Council Member Karen Denzine District Six
Concur:	Council Member John Seifert District Seven
Paul Finley, Mayor	
Attest:	
Lisa D. Thomas City Clerk-Treasurer	Mari Bretz Recording Secretary