

## MINUTES NO. 2022-02-SP SPECIAL CALLED MEETING OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF MADISON, ALABAMA November 30, 2022

The Madison City Council met for a special called meeting on Wednesday, November 30, 2022, at 8:35 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Madison Municipal Complex, Madison, Alabama. Noting that a quorum was present, the meeting was called to order at 8:35 p.m. by Council President Range Bartlett.

The following elected governing officials were in attendance

Mayor Paul Finley	Present
Council District No. 1 Maura Wroblewski	Present
Council District No. 2 Connie Spears	Present
Council District No. 3 Teddy Powell	Present
Council District No. 4 Greg Shaw	Absent
Council District No. 5 Ranae Bartlett	Present
Council District No. 6 Karen Denzine	Present
Council District No. 7 John Seifert	Present

City Officials in attendance were: City Clerk-Treasurer Lisa D. Thomas, Deputy City Clerk-Treasurer Kerri Sulyma, City Clerk Administrative Assistant Mari Bretz, City Attorney Brian Kilgore, Information Technology Coordinator Toby Jenkins, Information Technology Support Technician Garrett Gillott, Fire Chief David Bailey, Police Chief Johnny Gandy, Director of Development Services Mary Beth Broeren, Recreation Director Kory Alfred, Finance Director Roger Bellomy, and City Administrator Steve Smith

## RESOLUTION NO. 2022-321-R: AWARD OF BID FOR RENOVATION AND CONSTRUCTION OF COMMUNITY CENTER TO LEEBUILDERS, INC. (\$11,205,460)

Council Member Denzine moved to postpone Resolution No. 2022-286-R. Council Member Spears seconded. Council President Bartlett advised this would allow time to review bid documents and for a notice for special session to be completed. The vote was taken and recorded for the amendment as follows:

Council Member Maura Wroblewski	Aye
Council Member Connie Spears	Aye
Council Member Teddy Powell	Aye
Council Member Greg Shaw	Absent
Council Member Ranae Bartlett	Aye
Council Member Karen Denzine	Aye
Council Member John Seifert	Aye

Minutes No. 2022-02-SP November 30, 2022 Page 1 of 3

## Motion carried

Council President Bartlett thanked everyone who contributed to the work and special session.

City Administrator Steve Smith addressed Council and let them know if there is anything they need regarding the bid for Monday to let him know.

Council Member Denzine asked what the next steps on the Impact Fees Study are. Council President Bartlett responded she would like to give Council Member Shaw a chance to review the study and then ask Council Members if they would like to move forward and continue discussions at the next work session.

Council President Bartlett asked if January 4<sup>th</sup> 2023 would work for a work session. Council Member Seifert raised questions of the closeness to the holidays and other meetings. Council President Bartlett suggested Wednesday, January 11<sup>th</sup>, 2022 and after brief discussion it was decided on that date.

## **ADJOURNMENT**

Having no further business to discuss Council Member Wroblewski moved to adjourn. The roll call vote was taken and recorded as follows:

Council Member Maura Wroblewski	Aye
Council Member Connie Spears	Aye
Council Member Teddy Powell	Absent
Council Member Greg Shaw	Aye
Council Member Ranae Bartlett	Aye
Council Member Karen Denzine	Aye
Council Member John Seifert	Aye

Motion carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:45 p.m.

Minutes No. 2022-02-SP, dated Nov this 12 <sup>th</sup> day of December 2022.	rember 30 <sup>th</sup> , 2022, read, approved and adopted
	Council Member Maura Wroblewski District One
	Council Member Connie Spears District Two
	Council Member Teddy Powell District Three
	Council Member Greg Shaw District Four
	Council Member Ranae Bartlett District Five
	Council Member Karen Denzine District Six
Concur:	Council Member John Seifert District Seven
Paul Finley, Mayor	
Attest:	
Lisa D. Thomas City Clerk-Treasurer	Mari Bretz Recording Secretary