

Mr. David Kim California State Transportation Agency 915 Capitol Mall, Suite 350B Sacramento, CA 95814

January 28, 2021

RE: Distribution of Federal H.R. 133 Highway Funds for California

Dear Secretary Kim:

The San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies Policy Council (Policy Council) is thankful for the partnership with the State of California as we collaboratively work together to ensure our multi-modal transportation infrastructure continues to be safe and reliable while putting thousands of Californians to work to assist with the economic recovery from the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

As part of the *Coronavirus Response and Relief Supplemental Appropriations Act*, H.R 133, which was signed into law on December 27, 2020, California will receive approximately \$900 million of the \$10 billion that is provided for states through the Surface Transportation Block Grant (STBG) program. Per H.R. 133, funds can be programmed to STBG eligible projects as well as for preventative maintenance, routine maintenance, operations, and personnel.

Similar to the 2009 American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA), the Policy Council requests that the \$900 million identified for California be allocated to regional agencies through the traditional STBG formula which provides flexible funding to help deliver critical projects. H.R.133 allocates STBG funds directly to large Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) as direct recipients of funds. We respectfully request that small MPOs also be direct recipients of STBG funds. To expedite project delivery and economic relief, especially in smaller regions, we ask that the State also consider exchanging the federal STBG funds for state funds for agencies that participate in the STBG State Exchange program. Metropolitan Planning Organizations and Regional Transportation Planning Agencies have shovel-ready projects that can utilize funding immediately. These projects address safety, reducing greenhouse gas emissions, equity and provide multi-modal options for all users to help strengthen our transportation network.

If you have any questions, please contact Terri King, Chair of the San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies' Directors' Committee, at (559) 852-2678 or terri.king@co.kings.ca.us.

Sincerely,

Robert Poythress

Rebet of Pay Khun

Chair of the San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies Policy Council Madera County Supervisor

(559) 266-6222

(559) 314-6015

1401 19th Street, Suite 300 Bakersfield, CA 93301

http://sjvcogs.org/

The Honorable Joaquin Arambula, Assembly Member, 31st District cc: The Honorable Frank Bigelow, Assembly Member, 5th District The Honorable Andreas Borgeas, Senator, 8th District The Honorable Anna Caballero, Senator, 12th District The Honorable Susan Talamantes Eggman, Senator, 5th District The Honorable Heath Flora, Assembly Member, 12th District The Honorable Vince Fong, Assembly Member, 34th District The Honorable Adam Gray, Assembly Member, 21st District The Honorable Shannon Grove, Senator, 16th District The Honorable Melissa Hurtado, Senator, 14th District The Honorable Devin Mathis, Assembly Member, 26th District The Honorable Jim Patterson, Assembly Member, 23rd District The Honorable Rudy Salas Jr., Assembly Member, 32nd District The Honorable Carlos Villapadua, Assembly Member, 13th District Ronda Paschal, Deputy Legislative Secretary, Governor Newsom Mark Tollefson, Deputy Legislative Secretary, Governor Newsom Elissa Konove, Undersecretary, California State Transportation Agency Mitch Weiss, Executive Director, California Transportation Commission Toks Omishakin, Director, California Department of Transportation Tony Boren, Executive Director, Fresno Council of Governments Ahron Hakimi, Executive Director, Kern Council of Governments Terri King, Executive Director, Kings County Association of Governments Patricia Taylor, Executive Director, Madera County Transportation Commission Stacie Guzman, Executive Director, Merced County Association of Governments Diane Nguyen, Executive Director, San Joaquin Council of Governments Rosa DeLeón Park, Executive Director, Stanislaus Council of Governments Ted Smalley, Executive Director, Tulare County Association of Governments Members of the San Joaquin Valley Regional Planning Agencies Policy Council