

# MINUTES Economic Development Authority December 19, 2023

## **CALL TO ORDER**

The Economic Development Authority meeting was called to order at 6:00 pm.

Present: Chair: Jahn Dyvik; Board: Deirdre Kvale, Mike Feldmann, Charlie Miner, Gina

Joyce, Tim Hultmann, and Sahand Elmtalab

**Staff Present:** City Administrator/Executive Director: Scott Weske

Absent: None

## **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

# **APPROVE AGENDA**

A motion was made by Miner, seconded by Hultmann, to approve the agenda. Ayes: all.

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

The Consent Agenda consisted of the following:

A. Approve Minutes of April 18, 2023 Economic Development Authority Meeting

A motion was made by Dyvik, seconded by Feldmann, to approve the Consent Agenda. Ayes: all.

## **OPEN CORRESPONDENCE**

No one was in attendance to address the Economic Development Authority during Open Correspondence.

# **BUSINESS ITEMS**

# Recommendation to the City Council Regarding Reappointment of Economic Development Authority Member Sahand Elmtalab

Scott Weske, Executive Director, explained that Sahand Elmtalab has indicated an interest in being reappointed consistent with the EDA bylaws.

A motion was made by Dyvik, seconded by Feldmann, to recommend the City Council reappoint Sahand Elmtalab to serve as a resident at large member of the Economic Development Authority for a term effective January 1, 2024 through December 31, 2025. Ayes: all.

**Extend Economic Development Authority Chair and Vice-Chair Officer Position Appointments**Executive Director Weske explained that this agenda item was essentially a housekeeping item to match the terms laid out in the bylaws.

Economic Development Authority Minutes December 19, 2023 Page 2

Chair Dyvik noted that he did not think they should automatically just extend the terms of the current Chair and Vice-Chair if there were others interested in serving in that capacity. He stated that he was willing to continue to serve as Chair, but did not want to take that opportunity away from someone else.

Board member Feldmann stated that he agreed and was also willing to continue to serve as Vice-Chair, but would also be willing to step aside if someone else wanted that role.

A motion was made by Kvale, seconded by Hultmann, to extend the appointment of Board member Dyvik to serve as Chair and Board member Feldmann to serve as Vice-Chair. Ayes: all.

# Updates from City Staff Regarding Parking Requirements and the Status of City-Owned Property at 1905 Wayzata Boulevard W.

Executive Director Weske explained that City Clerk Moeller had intended to be at the meeting to share with the EDA about this item, but she was unable to attend due to illness. He stated that his understanding was that the City was seeing interested parties want to put uses the property that do not comply with zoning standards such as building size and parking requirements, which somewhat limits the opportunities given the smaller size of the property. He mentioned the example of developing the property for a restaurant being a scenario creating parking issues, or even queue issues for a business like a coffee shop. City Clerk Moeller and Planning Consultant Rybak have taken a look at a handful of property uses in zoning code where parking may be somewhat restrictive and would be bringing back a recommendation to the Planning Commission and the City Council about the possibility of easing up on some of the existing restrictions.

The EDA discussed some possible areas where they may be opportunities for a more flexible approach to things such as shared parking between businesses.

# **OTHER BUSINESS**

Land Adjacent to City Owned Parcel — Board member Miner reported that there is a sliver of land north of Fire Station 1 that seems to have been a bit of an anomaly with the County. He stated that the property's status will be fixed and the sliver of land will become part of the bigger piece of land owned by the City, as it should have been originally recorded.

#### **ADJOURN**

Hearing no objection, Chair Dyvik adjourned the meeting by general consent at 6:22 pm.

Respectfully submitted, Scott Weske, Executive Director