A PROCLAMATION RECOGNIZING THE YEAR 2023 AS THE SESQUICENTENNIAL ANNIVERSARY OF LINCOLN PARISH, LOUISIANA

WHEREAS, Lincoln Parish was created out of contiguous portions of the Northern Portion of Jackson Parish, the Eastern Portions of a part of the Parishes of Bienville and Claiborne, and a portion of Southwestern Union Parish by Act No. 32 of 1873; and

WHEREAS, Lincoln Parish, which was named for President Abraham Lincoln, has grown from densely wooded hills to become an important economic and educational center for North Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, Vienna was incorporated in 1848, Choudrant was established in 1883, and other communities within the parish bear the names of their founders: Simsboro (1848) was named for James Monroe Sims, an early settler; Ruston (1884) was named for its founder, Robert E. Russ; Grambling (1900) named for Judd Grambling, owner of a lumber mill at that site; Dubach (1901) was named for Fred B. Dubach, a lumberman settling here from Minnesota; and

WHEREAS, education is an important resource in Lincoln Parish, evolving from the early days of the Louisiana Chautauqua Society to the establishment of two major State Universities, Louisiana Tech University and Grambling State University; and

WHEREAS, the Lincoln Parish Police Jury established the Lincoln Parish Sesquicentennial Planning Committee via Resolution 22-22 to plan, develop, encourage, and coordinate the Commemoration of the One Hundred Fiftieth Anniversary of Lincoln Parish; and

WHEREAS, The Lincoln Parish Sesquicentennial Planning Committee has developed plans, programs and events associated with the One Hundred Fiftieth celebration;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Lincoln Parish Police Jury does hereby proclaim the year of 2023, to be known as the SESQUICENTENNIAL ANNIVERSARY OF LINCOLN PARISH, LOUISIANA and calls upon the citizens of Lincoln Parish to celebrate the history and future of Lincoln Parish.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that official copies of this Proclamation be presented to each member of the Lincoln Parish Sesquicentennial Planning Committee and the Lincoln Parish Legislative Delegation.