

925 S. Main Street Lebanon, Oregon 97355

TEL: 541.258.4906 cdc@ci.lebanon.or.us www.ci.lebanon.or.us

MEMORANDUM

Community Development

To: Mayor Jackola and City Council Date: October 21, 2024

From: Kelly Hart, Community Development Director

Subject: Planning Commissioner Appointment – Regina Thompson

I. INTRODUCTION

Chapter 2.24 of the Lebanon Municipal Code (LMC) establishes the membership, term of office, and appointment process for Planning Commissioners. The Commission consists of five regular commission seats and four alternates. There are currently eight commissioners, four assigned regular positions, and four alternates, with one vacant regular position.

II. CURRENT REPORT

Members of the Planning Commission and the Community Development Director interviewed Regina Thompson for an open seat based on the application submitted and their eligibility as inside city limits residency. The interview panel asked the applicant several questions about their history as a Lebanon area resident, opinions about the current path of development in the city, and methods of analyzing proposals and weighing input from the public. Based on the applicant's responses, the interview panel unanimously recommended the appointment of Regina Thompson to the Planning Commission. With this appointment, the Planning Commission roster would be:

Regular Commissioners:

- 1. Don Robertson, Chairman, Real Estate Agent, Outside UGB Term ends 2026
- 2. Lori Gerig-Knurowski, City Limits Term ends 2025
- 3. Kristina Breshears, UGB Term ends 2025
- 4. Karisten Baxter, Real Estate Agent, Outside UGB Term ends 2025
- 5. Don Fountain, UGB Term ends 2025

Alternate Commissioners:

- 1. Marcellus Angellford, City Limits Term ends 2025
- 2. Shyla Malloy, City Limits Term ends 2025
- 3. Michael Miller Term Ends 2028
- 4. Regina Thompson Term Ends 2028

III. RECOMMENDATION

In accordance with Section 2.24.025 of the LMC, staff recommends that the Mayor appoint Regina Thompson to the Planning Commission for the vacant alternate position, with a term ending in 2028.