

BOARD ACTION SUMMARY SHEET

MEETING DATE: May 5, 2025

TOPIC: Election of Officers

BACKGROUND BRIEF:

According to the Bylaws and Rules of Procedure, the Planning Commission is responsible for electing its officers (Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, and Secretary) from among its members the first Regular Meeting in May. The Commission may also create and fill other offices as deemed necessary.

The current officers of the Planning Commission are:

• Chairperson: Jim Zsenyuk

Vice Chairperson: Ed Sabol

Secretary: Hank Lorant

The election process is as follows:

- Open nominations for an officer position (nominations do not require a second).
- Accept nominations for that office.
- Close nominations.
- Vote on the nominees.

If only one person is nominated for a position, a motion may be made and seconded to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for the nominated individual. Alternatively, a slate of officers may be created (if only one person is nominated for each position), and the entire slate can be voted on with a single motion.

RECOMMENDED MOTION:

To elect	as Chairperson of the Planning Commission, with a term expiring on
April 30,	2026, with the opportunity for re-election, and the position to be elected annually at the first
regular r	neeting in May, with the Chairperson holding office until a successor is elected and assumes
office.	

To elect	as Vice Chairperson of the Planning Commission, with a term expiring
on April 30, 2026, wit	h the opportunity for re-election, and the position to be elected annually at the
first regular meeting i assumes office.	n May, with the Vice Chairperson holding office until a successor is elected and
To elect	as Secretary of the Planning Commission, with a term expiring on
April 30, 2026, with th	ne opportunity for re-election, and the position to be elected annually at the first
regular meeting in Ma	ay, with the Vice Chairperson holding office until a successor is elected and
assumes office.	