

BOARD ACTION SUMMARY SHEET

MEETING DATE: January 6, 2024

TOPIC: Special Election for Planning Commission Vice Chairperson

BACKGROUND BRIEF:

According to the Bylaws and Rules of Procedure, the Planning Commission is responsible for electing its officers (Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, and Secretary) from among its members. The Commission may also create and fill other offices as deemed necessary.

With the former Vice Chairperson, George Dandalides, now serving on the Village Council, the Vice Chairperson position is vacant.

The current officers of the Planning Commission are:

- Chairperson: Jim Zsenyuk
- Vice Chairperson: Vacant
- Secretary: Hank Lorant

The Vice Chairperson's role includes presiding over all Regular, Adjourned, or Special Meetings, public hearings, and committee meetings of the Planning Commission in the absence of the Chairperson or if the Chairperson is unable to act. The Vice Chairperson has the same authority as the Chairperson in these situations.

The election process is as follows:

- Open nominations for an officer position (nominations do not require a second).
- Accept nominations for that office.
- Close nominations.
- Vote on the nominees.

If only one person is nominated for a position, a motion may be made and seconded to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for the nominated individual. Alternatively, a slate of officers

may be created (if only one person is nominated for each position), and the entire slate can be voted on with a single motion.

RECOMMENDED MOTION:

To elect ______ as Vice Chairperson of the Planning Commission, with a term expiring on April 30, 2025, with the opportunity for re-election, and the position to be elected annually at the first regular meeting in May, with the Vice Chairperson holding office until a successor is elected and assumes office.