MINUTES

CITY OF LAKE WORTH BEACH

SPECIAL CITY COMMISSION MEETING – ADVISORY BOARD APPOINTMENTS CITY HALL COMMISSION CHAMBER TUESDAY, JUNE 28, 2022 – 5:00 PM

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Resch on the above date at 5:09 PM in the City Commission Chamber located at City Hall, 7 North Dixie Highway, Lake Worth Beach, Florida.

ROLL CALL: (0:17) Present were Mayor Betty Resch; Vice Mayor Christopher McVoy and Commissioners Sarah Malega, Kimberly Stokes and Reinaldo Diaz. Also present were City Manager Carmen Davis and City Clerk Melissa Ann Coyne.

NEW BUSINESS: (0:43)

- A. Advisory Board Appointments
 - 1. Planning & Zoning Board (1:16)
- Action: Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Diaz to appoint Alexander Cull, Evelin Urcuyo and Daniel Walesky to the Planning and Zoning Board.
- Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.
 - 2. Community Redevelopment Board (1:41)
- Action: Motion made by Commissioner Stokes and seconded by Vice Mayor McVoy to appoint Anne Fairfax, Donna Kerner and Daniel Morgan to the Community Redevelopment Board.
- Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.
 - 3. Historic Resources Preservation Board (4:47)
- Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Vice Mayor McVoy to appoint Tricia Hallison-Mischler and Nadine Heitz to the Historic Resources Preservation Board.
- <u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.
 - 4. Library Advisory Board (11:16)
- Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Vice Mayor McVoy to appoint Emily Abbott, Erika Gettig and Mary Lindsey to the Library Advisory Board.
- <u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

5. C-51 Canal Advisory Board (12:00)

Action: Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Diaz to table appointments to the C-51 Advisory Board until the committee would be reconfigured.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

6. City Tree Board (16:09)

Action: Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to appoint Diane Brown, Giovanna Dominguez Timor, and Ginny Powell to the City Tree Board.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

7. Construction Board of Adjustments & Appeals (17:26)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Vice Mayor McVoy to appoint the Edmund Deveaux, Thomas Forlenza, and Mark Szafaryn to the Construction Board of Adjustments & Appeals.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

8. Electric Utility Advisory Board (18:52)

Action: Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Malega to appoint Eric Jeffers and Ramsay Stevens to the Electric Utility Advisory Board.

Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

9. Finance Advisory Board (19:01)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Vice Mayor McVoy to table appointments to the Finance Advisory Board until the board would be reconfigured.

Vote: Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

10. Recreation Advisory Board (30:31)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded Commissioner Diaz to appoint Danielle Hartman, Tiffany Kapner and Theodore McMorrough to the Recreation Advisory Board.

Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

11. Police Retirement System (30:56)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Commissioner Stokes to appoint Lonney Moral to the Police Retirement System.

Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

12. Firefighters Pension Board (31:12)

Action: Motion made by Commissioner Malega and seconded by Commissioner Diaz to appoint Valerie Hurley and Theodore McMurrough to the Firefighters Pension Board.

Vote: Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

13. Employees Retirement System (33:47)

Action: Motion made by Vice Mayor McVoy and seconded by Commissioner Malega to appoint Wayne Lewis to the Employees Retirement System.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Malega, Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

ADJOURNMENT: (36:10)

<u>Action:</u> Motion made by Commissioner Stokes and seconded by Commissioner Malega to adjourn the meeting at 5:45 PM.

<u>Vote:</u> Voice vote showed: AYES: Mayor Resch, Vice Mayor McVoy, and Commissioners Stokes and Diaz. NAYS: None.

Betty Resch, Mayor

Melissa Ann Coyne, City Clerk

Minutes approved July 19, 2022.

Item time stamps refer to the recording of the meeting which is available on YouTube.