

CITY OF KETCHUM MEETING MINUTES OF THE ***SPECIAL MEETING*** HISTORIC PRESERVATION

Wednesday, February 14, 2024

COMMISSION

CALL TO ORDER:

Wendolyn Holland called to order at 4:30 p.m. (00:00:18 in video)

Roll Call:

Wendolyn Holland Jakub Galczynski Melissa Rivelo Clyde Holt Matthew McGraw

Also Present:

Morgan Landers - Director of Planning and Building Abby Rivin – Senior Planner Adam Crutcher – Associate Planner Paige Nied – Associate Planner Heather Nicolai - Office Administrator

COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE COMMISSIONERS:

- Wendolyn Holland welcoming the new commissioners (00:01:20 in video)
- Morgan Landers overview of communication from the commissioners (00:002:24 in video)

CONSENT AGENDA: (00:07:10 in video)

1. **ACTION ITEM:** Approval of the December 5, 2023 Minutes

Motion made by Jakub Galczynski to approve the December 5, 2023 Minutes; Seconded **by** Clyde Holt. (00:08:02 in video)

MOVER: Jakub Galczynski **SECONDER:** Clyde Holt

AYES: Wendolyn Holland, Jakub Galczynski, Melissa Rivelo, Clyde Holt

NAYS: None

ABSTAIN: Matthew McGraw

RESULT: MOTION ADOPED 4-YAYS, 1-ABSTAIN

PUBLIC HEARING: (00:08:32 in video)

None

NEW BUSINESS: (00:09:47 in video)

- **2.** ACTION ITEM: Election of Historic Preservation Commission Chair (00:10:25 in video)
 - Staff explanation of roles and responsibilities for Chair and Vice Chair positions. (00:11:40 in video)
 - Commissioner comments & questions, and staff response (00:17:00 in video)
 - Commissioners shared their backgrounds, experiences, etc. (00:26:15 in video)

Motion made by Matthew McGraw to elect Clyde Holt as chairperson for the Historic Preservation Commission; Seconded by Melissa Rivelo. (00:39:16 in video)

MOVER: Matthew McGraw SECONDER: Melissa Rivelo

AYES: Wendolyn Holland, Jakub Galczynski, Melissa Rivelo, Clyde Holt & Matthew McGraw

NAYS: None

RESULT: UNANIMOUSLY ADOPED

Motion made by Melissa Rivelo to elect Melissa Rivelo as Vice Chairperson for the Historic Preservation Commission; Seconded by Clyde Holt. (00:42:18 in video)

MOVER: Melissa Rivelo **SECONDER:** Clyde Holt

AYES: Wendolyn Holland, Jakub Galczynski, Melissa Rivelo, Clyde Holt & Matthew McGraw

NAYS: None

RESULT: UNANIMOUSLY ADOPED

- 3. Project Update: Cohesive Ketchum Comprehensive Plan and Code Update
 - Morgan opening remarks regarding the project team (00:43:18 in video)
 - Staff Presentation: Abby Riven-Senior Planner & Adam Crutcher Associate Planner (00:43:55 in video)
 - Commission comments and questions for Staff and Staff response (00:55:55 in video)
 - Staff Presentation: Adam Crutcher Associate Planner (01:11:05 in video) 541
 - Commission comments and questions for Staff and Staff response (01:19:55 in video)
- 4. Commissioner Rivelo had several questions and observations regarding past HPC meetings, public comment, information regarding the Historic Preservation Commission that is on the website, etc. (01:35:19 in video)
 - Staff & Commission dialog regarding the questions and observations (01:40:10 in video)

ADJOURNMENT: (01:54:54 in video)

Motion to adjourn the meeting at 6:25 p.m.

MOVER: Clyde Holt

SECONDER: Jakub Galczynski

AYES: Wendolyn Holland, Jakub Galczynski, Melissa Rivelo, Clyde Holt & Matthew McGraw

NAYS: None

RESULT: UNANIMOUSLY ADOPED

Clyde Holt

Historic Preservation Commission Chairperson

Morgan Landers, Director Planning and Building City of Ketchum