# SPECIAL ASSEMBLY MEETING 2024-27 (BRH BOARD/PLANNING COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS) MINUTES - DRAFT



December 17, 2024 at 8:00 PM

**Zoom Webinar** 

https://juneau.zoom.us/j/95241164899 or 1-253-215-8782 Webinar ID: 952 4116 4899

Immediately Following the Full Assembly as HRC, meeting start time is approximate

**A. CALL TO ORDER** Mayor Weldon called Special Assembly Meeting 2024-17 for Empowered Board appointments, held via Zoom, to order at 8:27 p.m.

#### B. ROLL CALL

**Assemblymembers Present:** Mayor Beth Weldon, Greg Smith, Christine Woll, Ella Atkison, Paul Kelly, Neil Steininger, and Maureen Hall

Assemblymembers Absent: Wade Bryson and Alicia Hughes-Skandijs

Staff/Others: Deputy Municipal Clerk Di Cathcart

#### C. AGENDA TOPICS

Appointments to the Bartlett Regional Hospital Board and the Planning Commission.

## **Bartlett Regional Hospital Board**

Per CBJ 40.05.010; the board shall consist of nine members appointed by the assembly for staggered three-year terms. To the extent feasible, appointments should include persons with experience or expertise in matters relevant to hospital governance. Up to two members of the hospital board may be physicians in the community appointed from a list of names submitted by the hospital medical staff. There are three seats on the Board with terms running January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2027 and one seat for an unexpired term beginning immediately and ending December 31, 2026.

<u>MOTION</u>: by Assembly Human Resources Committee Chair Ms. Adkison for the Assembly to take the following action for the Bartlett Regional Hospital Board to reappoint **Hal Geiger** and **Deborah Johnston**, and to appoint **Brent Tingey** to full terms beginning January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2027 and to appoint **Chris Letterman** to an unexpired term beginning immediately and ending December 31, 2025, and asked for unanimous consent. *Hearing no objection, motion passed.* 

### **Planning Commission**

Per CBJ 49.10.110; the nine members of the commission shall be residents of the CBJ and may be paid an honorarium. Members of the commission shall be appointed by the assembly to staggered three-year terms. There are three seats with terms running January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2027.

<u>MOTION</u>: by Assembly Human Resources Committee Chair Ms. Adkison for the Assembly to take the following action for the Planning Commission to reappoint Hans 'Erik' Petersen and Matthew Bell and to appoint Douglas Salik all with terms beginning January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2027, and asked for unanimous consent. Hearing no objection, motion passed.

- **D. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION None**
- E. FOR THE GOOD OF THE ORDER

# December 17, 2024 Special Assembly Meeting 2024-27 (BRH Board/Planning Commission Appointments) Draft - Minutes Page 2 of 2

The Assembly discussed a 'housekeeping' action that was inadvertently missed during the last budget cycle. When changes were made to how Travel Juneau submits its budget and funding requests, Juneau Economic Development Council (JEDC) was the other organization that was supposed to move to the same process when submitting its budget and funding requests.

**MOTION:** by Mr. Smith that the Assembly give direction to staff to draft a resolution that would bring JEDC in line with the CBJ budget process. *Hearing no objections, motion passed.* 

F. ADJOURNMENT - There being no further business before the Assembly, meeting adjourned at 8:35 p.m.		
Sign		Signed:
	Diane Cathcart	Beth Weldon
	Deputy Municipal Clerk	Mayor