

The Alaska Committee

3030 Vintage Blvd, #100 • Juneau AK 99801 • (907)789-2903

Board Members

Wayne Jensen

Chair

Max Mertz Vice Chair

Win Gruening

Secretary

Connie Hulbert

Treasurer

Mary Becker

Dru Fenster

Cordova Pleasants

Jesse Kiehl

Greg Smith

Kevin Jardell

Diana Cote

Jeff Grant

Teresa Young

Duff Mitchell

Beth Weldon

Robert Venables

Andrea Watts

Maggie McMillan

McHugh Pierre

Liz Perry

Brian Holst

Craig E. Dahl

January 24, 2025

Re: Alaska Committee FY26 Grant

Attn:, Adrien Wendel, Budget Manager, CBJ

The Alaska Committee was started in 1995 following decades of efforts to move the Capital and/or legislature. "The purpose of the organization is to make state government work better for all Alaskans by enhancing Juneau as Alaska's capital city"

The Committee is governed by a board of directors consisting of 22 members; 17 members are elected to serve 3-year staggered terms the mayor is a designated member and other designated members are representative of liaison organizations. The current members listed in the margin

The Juneau Chamber of Commerce provides administrative support to the Committee.

Our focus includes Improving Access to the Capital, enhancing Infrastructure to support legislators and visitors, improving communications, and partnering with other organizations to enhance our efforts. Some of our partners with similar missions in addition to the liaisons include: The Capitol Fund of the Juneau Community Foundation, Develop Juneau, Downtown Business Association and KTOO (Gavel Alaska).

We hold meetings monthly at 7 AM on the second Wednesday of every month. all meetings are in-person and via Zoom. Some of the activities/Issues that have addressed over the years are include the following:

• The Community Welcome Reception for the Legislature which is a reception open to the public to welcome the legislators to the capital city. The event includes collecting welcome gift bags for the legislators, Governor and Lt. Governor. We host the reception with help from CBJ and other local organizations

- We support the League of Women Voters Capitol visits for Juneau 8th grade students.
- We sponsor organizations that hold meeting in the capital during the session including SE Conference, Alaska Municipal League, Alaska Chamber of Commerce, Alaska Power Association and others
- We support Gavel Alaska and help them with funding
- We support Develop Juneau a private corporation that developed 3 buildings near the Capitol
 that contain 16 apartment units that are reserved for legislators and staff. The Alaska
 Committee was gifted stock in the corporation and we hold about 25% of the stock. We have
 members on the board of directors
- We have partnered with the Juneau Community Foundation Capitol Fund on projects to improve the Capitol Campus like the conversion of the Assembly Building into Legislative housing, purchase of the Behrends House for the Lt. Governor, construction of Capitol Park, renovation of the Capitol, improvements to the infrastructure for Gavel Alaska
- We partner with Alaska Airlines in the Constituent Fare and provides reduced cost for travel to Juneau during the session.

Activities that we anticipate our involvement in addition to continuing with most of the efforts listed above include:

- Assist KTOO in funding for Gavel Alaska.
- Increasing the awareness of Gavel Alaska.
- Exploring opportunities to improve the Capitol Complex.
- Monitoring legislative move efforts.
- Improving housing for Legislators.

Respectfully,

Wayne Jensen, Chair The Alaska Committee