

CBJ Assembly 155 Heritage Way Juneau, Alaska 99801 PHONE: (907) 586-5240 FAX: (907) 586-5385 boroughassembly@juneau.org

January 6, 2025

Senator Lisa Murkowski 522 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Murkowski,

The City and Borough of Juneau would like to extend our heartfelt gratitude to you and your staff for your tireless efforts on behalf of the community of Juneau to recover from the 2024 Mendenhall Glacial Lake Outburst Flood and mitigate the impact of future flood events.

The flood waters had not yet receded the morning of August 6th and you were on the phone with Juneau leadership ready to help. The very next day you came to Juneau to meet with impacted residents and see for yourself the devastation. You took time with each person you met to hear their story and understand their loss. You found funding to engage the United States Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) to provide technical assistance and advanced flood fighting. You helped secure a Federal Disaster Declaration and jointly with the Alaska Delegation sent a letter to President Biden minutes after the state of Alaska submitted their request. You sent staff to attend all the work sessions, charettes, and endless zoom meetings. Grace and Amanda on your team have been always at the ready to help problem solve and strategize. A special thanks to Kevin who got everyone on the same page and made sure all the details were cared for.

Through tireless advocacy, a joint letter to Director Young of the Office of Management and Budget, and countless hours of conversations with federal agencies and committees, you were able to help secure a very specific addition in support of Juneau's flood mitigation efforts in House Resolution 10545, also known as the <u>American Relief Act of 2025</u>. This funding will allow USACE to begin an Investigation Study in 2025 to work towards a long-term solution to these annual flooding events.

The USACE Investigation Study is an important next step, but we know the work has just begun to protect our community and we are lucky to have your support and partnership navigating the federal landscape and securing federal resources.

With deepest gratitude,

Mayor Beth Weldon	Alicia Hughes-Skandijs	Ella Adkison
Deputy Mayor Greg Smith	Christine Woll	Neil Steininger
Wade Bryson	Paul R. Kelly	Maureen Hall