FULL ASSEMBLY AS THE HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE MINUTES -DRAFT



December 17, 2024 at 5:30 PM

Zoom Webinar

https://juneau.zoom.us/j/95241164899 or 1-253-215-8782 Webinar ID: 952 4116 4899 Immediately Followed by Special Assembly Meeting for Empowered Board Appointments

A. CALL TO ORDER

The Full Assembly met as the Human Resources Committee via Zoom Webinar in Juneau, Alaska; HRC Chair Adkison called the meeting to order at 5:31 p.m.

B. LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT – read by Assemblymember Woll

We would like to acknowledge that the City and Borough of Juneau is on Tlingit land and wish to honor the indigenous people of this land. For more than ten thousand years, Alaska Native people have been and continue to be integral to the well-being of our community. We are grateful to be in this place, a part of this community, and to honor the culture, traditions, and resilience of the Tlingit people. Gunalchéesh!

C. ROLL CALL

Assemblymembers Present: Chair Ella Adkison, Mayor Beth Weldon, Deputy Mayor Greg Smith, Christine Woll, Paul Kelly, Maureen Hall, and Neil Steininger

Assemblymembers Absent: Wade Bryson and Alicia Hughes-Skandijs

Others Present: Deputy Municipal Clerk Di Cathcart, Assistant City Attorney Sherri Layne

D. APPROVAL OF AGENDA = agenda approved as presented

E. AGENDA TOPICS

1. Bartlett Regional Hospital Board Applicant Interviews

Per CBJ <u>40.05.010</u>; the board shall consist of nine members appointed by the assembly for staggered three-year terms. To the extent feasible, appointments should include persons with experience or expertise in matters relevant to hospital governance. Up to two members of the hospital board may be physicians in the community appointed from a list of names submitted by the hospital medical staff. There are three public seats on the Board with terms running January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2027 and one unexpired seat for a term beginning immediately and ending December 31, 2026.

Interview Time/Applicant

5:40pm: Hal Geiger (Incumbent)

5:50pm: Deborah Johnson (Incumbent)

6:00pm: Mark Johnson

6:10pm: Ephraim Froehlich

6:20pm: Brent Tingey (in flight/unable to attend)

6:30pm: Chris Letterman

6:40pm: 10 MINUTE BREAK

Six BRH Board applicants were considered. During the interviews it was discovered that one of the applicants has a partner that is employed by BRH which makes that applicant ineligible to hold a seat on the board. After interviewing the BRH Board applicants and the Planning Commission applicants, the HRC recessed into executive session per a motion by Mayor Weldon at 7:41 p.m. and reconvened into open meeting session at 8:26 p.m.

The HRC chose to fill the unexpired BRH seat with a term ending December 31, 2026 as a one-year term and will treat that seat again as a one-year term next year.

<u>MOTION</u>: by Mr. Smith for the Assembly Human Resources Committee to recommend to the Assembly to reappoint Hal Geiger and Deborah Johnston, and to appoint Brent Tingey to full terms beginning January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2027 and to appoint Chris Letterman to an unexpired term beginning immediately and ending December 31, 2025, all to the Bartlett Regional Hospital Board. *Hearing no objection, motion passed.*

2. Planning Commission Applicant Interviews

Per <u>CBJ 49.10.110</u>; the nine members of the commission shall be residents of the CBJ and may be paid an honorarium. Members of the commission shall be appointed by the assembly to staggered three-year terms. *There are three seats with terms running January 1, 2025 to December 31, 2027.*

Interview Times/Applicants

6:50pm: Chris Letterman

7:00pm: Angela Rodell (withdrew)

7:10pm: Douglas Salik

7:20pm: Nathaniel 'Nano' Brooks

7:30pm: Hans 'Erik' Petersen (Incumbent)

7:40pm: Matthew Bell (Incumbent)

Move into Executive Session after last applicant

Five Planning Commission applicants were considered. After interviewing the BRH Board applicants and the Planning Commission applicants, the HRC recessed into executive session per a motion by Mayor Weldon at 7:41 p.m. and reconvened into open meeting session at 8:25 p.m.

<u>MOTION</u>: by Mr. Smith for the Assembly Human Resources Committee to recommend to the Assembly to reappoint Hans 'Erik' Petersen and Matthew Bell and to appoint Douglas Salik to the three Planning Commission seats with terms beginning January 1, 2025 and ending December 31, 2027. *Hearing no objection, motion passed*.

F. EXECUTIVE SESSION

<u>MOTION</u>: by Mayor Weldon, that the HRC recess into executive session to discuss matters which may tend to prejudice the reputation or character of any person, specifically to deliberate on the qualifications of applicants and ask for unanimous consent. *Hearing no objection, the HRC recessed into executive session at 7:41 p.m*.

<u>MOTION</u>: by Mayor Weldon, that the HRC move from executive session back into open session and ask for unanimous consent. *Hearing no objection, the HRC reconvened into open session at 8:25 p.m.*

G. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the committee, meeting adjourned at 8:26 p.m.