INDEPENDENCE TELECOM UTILITY

MINUTES OF REGULAR BOARD MEETING

March 28, 2024

<u>Call to Order:</u> A regular meeting of the Board of Trustees of Independence Telecommunications Utility was called to order at 9:01 a.m. on March 28, 2024 in the administrative office building. Chairman Lance Fricke presided. Present at the meeting via audio/video or in person were Trustees, Michelle Burk, Amber Hunt, Mike Lenius and Jerry Stelter. Absent; none. Also, present were Kevin Sidles, Ryan Decker, Sara Wilson, and Brian Eddy. Votes were unanimous unless indicated otherwise.

<u>Consent Agenda</u>: Inclusive of the minutes of the February 29, 2024 regular meeting, Bills #21196-21227; electronic payments #8805357-5395 and direct deposit advice #9903413–3428; Month end and operations reports were approved with a motion by Burke, second by Stelter.

<u>Business Conducted:</u> 1) No public request or comment. 2) Wilson reported Linemen and Technicians participated in Ladder Safety, Basic Electrical Safety, Fire Prevention and Fall Protection Training on March 26, 2024; IAMU Safety Dividend and Work Comp/GL Audit Refund checks received; Income Offset matches through March 28, 2024 are at \$5,729; Staff attended a Benefit Renewal meeting on March 14, 2024. 3) Decker reported **Construction** updates: Fiber to the Home construction scheduled to begin April 8, 2024. **Outage** updates: None. **Phone** updates: No changes; **Cable TV** updates: No changes; **Internet** updates: all customers from previous builds are converted to fiber. 4) Sidles presented a rate comparison with a local Cable, Internet and Phone Provider. 5) Old Business – None. 6) New Business – None. 7) The next regular Board meeting will be Thursday April 25, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. 8) An upcoming meeting has been set for Thursday May 30, 2024 at 9:00 a.m. 9) Lenius moved to go into closed session at 9:18 a.m. to discuss competitive information, Iowa Code 22.7(6), second by Burke. 10) ITU back into regular session at 9:24 a.m. 11) Moved for adjournment at 9:25 a.m. with a motion by Burke.

Lance Fricke, Chairperson

Mike Lenius, Secretary/Treasurer

Date Approved