RESOLUTION 21-13

A RESOLUTIONS CANCELLING THE HYRUM CITY MUNICIPAL ELECTION PURUSANT TO UTAH CODE 20A-1-206 DUE TO NUMBER OF CANDIDATES NOT EXCEEDING THE NUMBER OF OPEN OFFICES.

WHEREAS, Hyrum City had scheduled a Municipal General Election for November 2, 2021 to fill one seat for Mayor a four year term; and two seats for City Council four year terms; and

WHEREAS, in accordance with Utah Code the Filing Period for Candidacy and the Declaration Period for a Write-In Candidate has expired; and

WHEREAS, the number of candidates that filed for Municipal Office do not exceed the number of offices open; and

WHEREAS, Utah Code 20A-1-206 gives the Municipal Legislative Body authority to cancel a local election if the number of candidates do not exceed the number of Municipal Offices for which the candidates have filed; and

WHEREAS, the Hyrum City Council has reviewed Utah Code and has determined it meets all of the qualifications in Section 20A-1-206 to cancel the 2021 Municipal General Election.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hyrum City Council hereby cancels the 2021 Municipal General Election and certifies the following Utah Code requirements for cancellation were met:

- There are no municipal ballot propositions for the Hyrum City Election;
- Each Municipal Officer candidate is running unopposed; and
- Each Municipal Officer candidate is a candidate for an at-large Municipal Office for which the number of candidates does not exceed the number of open at-large Municipal Offices.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that each Municipal Officer candidate is considered to be elected to office:

Mayor Stephanie Miller - four year term; City Council Member Paul C. James - four year term; and City Council Member Jared L. Clawson - four year term. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that this Resolution is passed more than 20 days before the day of the scheduled Election November 2, 2021.

ADOPTED AND PASSED by the Hyrum City Council this $16^{\rm th}$ day of September, 2021.

HYRUM CITY

BY:

Stephanie Miller Mayor