

CITY OF HENDERSONVILLE STRATEGIC HOUSING PLAN STEERING COMMMITTEE AND CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL CALLED MEETING

Patton Park | 1730 Asheville Hwy. | Hendersonville NC 28792 Monday, August 19, 2024 – 6:00 AM

MINUTES

Council Members:

Mayor Barbara Volk, Mayor Pro Tem Lyndsey Simpson, Council Member Melinda Lowrance and Council Member Jennifer Hensley (drove herself)

Committee Members:

Robert Hooper (WNC Source), Sarah Cosgrove (Builder's Assoc. of the Blue Ridge), Madeline Offen (Pisgah Legal), Hilary Paradise (Land of Sky); Carsten Erkel (Partnership for Economic Development), Jennifer Duvall (HAC)

Absent:

Debi Smith, (TDA), Connie Stewart (Housing Authority), Linda Saturno (Habitat),

Staff Present:

City Manager John Connet, Assistant City Manager Brian Pahle, City Clerk, Jill Murray, City Attorney Angela Beeker, Communications Manager Allison Justus, Community Development Director Lew Holloway, Strategic Projects Manager Matt Manley,

Others in attendance:

Erica Anderson (LOS), Melisa Escobar (True Ridge), Nancy Diaz (Mountain True); Anna Lloyd (LOS); Margaret Lebeck (Housing Assistance); Steve Orr (City of Saluda); Nora Sjue (Henderson County); Chris Todd (Henderson County)

Transportation to and from the meeting was through Globe Treks, a local bus company.

The meeting convened at 11:15 a.m. at 300 E. Main St., Durham, NC, for a tour of a housing site being developed after a needs assessment study was performed by Development Finance Initiative of the School of Government. The tour concluded at 12:30 p.m., and the meeting was adjourned to reconvene at the School of Government, 400 South Road, Chapel Hill, NC.

The meeting reconvened at 2:20 p.m. at the School of Government, 400 South Road, Chapel Hill, NC. The City Council, Steering Committee and other attendees heard a presentation from Kimberly Sanchez, Director of the Chapel Hill Community Home Trust, after which CHT staff took the group on a tour of CHT housing sites in Chapel. The tour and the meeting ended at 5:20 p.m.

Lyndsey Simpson, City Council Member & Acting Steering Committee Chairman Barbara Volk, Mayor

ATTEST:

Jill Murray, City Clerk