

DATE: December 21, 2023

TO: Suburban Cities Mayors, City Managers, City Secretaries and Finance Directors

FROM: W. Kenneth Nolan, Executive Director/Chief Appraiser

RE: Runoff for 2023 Election of Suburban Cities Representative to DCAD Board of Directors

State law requires the Chief Appraiser to conduct an election of representatives to the Board of Directors in odd numbered years. The process outlined in the Texas Property Tax Code requires the election to be conducted and the individual entities notified of the results once the process is complete.

1. Suburban Cities Election

The election process requires a runoff. The following suburban cities participated in the election. Each of their selections is noted below. *The current tally indicates Michael Hurtt of Desoto received 13, Brett Franks of Sachse received 4, Shante L. Allen of Glenn Heights received 2, Diane Cartwright of Irving received 1, and Steve Nichols of Hutchins received 1 of the 21 votes cast.*

The current tally indicates Michael Hurtt of Desoto received 11, Brett Franks of Sachse received 4, Terry Lynne of Farmers Branch received 3, Carrie Gordon received 2, Mark Jones of Desoto received 1, and Steve Nichols of Hutchins received 1 of the 22 votes cast. Since there was no one candidate receiving 16 votes (majority of the 30 votes eligible), a runoff election is necessary between the top two finishers: Michael Hurtt of Desoto and Brett Franks of Sachse.

<u>City</u>	Candidate Selected
Addison	Michael Hurtt
Balch Springs	Terry Lynne
Carrollton	Michael Hurtt
Cedar Hill	Abstain
Cockrell Hill	Abstain
Combine	Abstain
Coppell	Abstain
DeSoto	Mark Jones
Duncanville	Michael Hurtt
Farmers Branch	Terry Lynne
Ferris	Michael Hurtt
Garland	Abstain
Glenn Heights	Carrie Gordon
Grand Prairie	Abstain
Grapevine	Abstain
	Addison Balch Springs Carrollton Cedar Hill Cockrell Hill Combine Coppell DeSoto Duncanville Farmers Branch Ferris Garland Glenn Heights Grapevine

16. Highland Park **Brett Franks** 17. Hutchins **Steve Nichols** 18. Irving Terry Lynne Michael Hurtt 19. Lancaster 20. Lewisville Abstain 21. Mesquite Michael Hurtt 22. Ovilla Michael Hurtt 23. Richardson Michael Hurtt 24. Rowlett Carrie Gordon 25. Sachse **Brett Franks** 26. Seagoville Michael Hurtt 27. Sunnyvale **Brett Franks** 28. University Park Michael Hurtt 29. Wilmer Michael Hurtt

A runoff ballot is enclosed.

30. Wylie

Please make plans on your council agenda during January to vote for a Suburban Cities Representative. The person who receives the most votes from the suburban cities in the runoff election is then declared the Fourth member of the DCAD Board of Directors. We appreciate your cooperation in this important process.

Brett Franks

Enclosure Runoff Ballot

Cc w/o Encl:

DCAD Board of Directors

Michael Hurtt 217 South Hampton Rd Desoto, TX 75115

Brett Franks 4811 West Creek Ln. Sachse, TX 75048-4301