

Office of the Secretary Washington, DC 20250

March 17, 2023

The Honorable Jared Polis Governor State of Colorado 136 State Capitol Denver, Colorado 80203

Dear Governor Polis:

In accordance with 7 CFR 759.5(a), I am designating 23 Colorado counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

In accordance with section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, additional areas of your state and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties. Enclosed you will find documentation that provides a detailed list of all primary and contiguous counties impacted by this disaster.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes FSA emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.

Local FSA offices can provide affected farmers with further information.

Sincerely,

THOMAS J. VILSACK

Secretary

Enclosure

DISASTER DESIGNATION AREAS FOR COLORADO AND CONTIGUOUS STATES

Primary Counties

Colorado (23)

Adams Kiowa Phillips
Arapahoe Kit Carson Prowers
Baca Las Animas Pueblo
Bent Lincoln Sedgwick
Cheyenne Logan Washington

Crowley Morgan Weld
Elbert Otero Yuma

El Paso Fremont

Contiguous Counties:

Colorado (13)

Boulder Costilla Douglas Larimer Saguache Broomfield Custer Huerfano Park Teller

Chaffee Denver Jefferson

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States:

Kansas (7)

Cheyenne Hamilton Sherman Wallace

Greeley Morton Stanton

Nebraska (6)

Chase Deuel Kimball Cheyenne Dundy Perkins

New Mexico (2) Colfax Union

Oklahoma (1)

Cimarron

Wyoming (1)

Laramie