PROCLAMATION NO. 24-03

THE BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF HUERFANO COUNTY, COLORADO

NATIONAL PEACE OFFICERS' WEEK MAY 12 – 18, 2024

WHEREAS, in 1962, President Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15 falls, as National Police Week; and

WHEREAS, the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund reported that 136 Federal, State, Tribal, and local Law Enforcement officers died in the line-of-duty in the United States during the year of 2023; and

WHEREAS, the dedicated members of the Huerfano County Sheriff's Office work devotedly and selflessly on behalf of the citizens of Huerfano County, regardless of the peril or hazard to themselves; and

WHEREAS, our Sheriff's Office has grown to be a modern and well-respected Law Enforcement Agency which unceasingly provides a vital public service; and

WHEREAS, it is important that all citizens know and understand the duties, responsibilities, hazards, and sacrifices of their Sheriff's Office, and that members of your Sheriff's Office recognize their duty to serve the people by safeguarding life and property, by protecting them against violence or disorder, and by protecting the innocent against deception and the weak against oppression.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT PROCLAIMED by the Huerfano County Board of County Commissioners that the week of May 12 through 18, 2024 to be National Peace Officers Week, and all Huerfano County citizens are encouraged to join in commemorating Law Enforcement officers, past and present, who by their faithful and loyal devotion to their responsibilities have rendered a dedicated service to Huerfano County Citizens, and in doing so, have established for themselves an enviable and enduring reputation for preserving the rights and security of all citizens.

INTRODUCED, READ, APPROVED AND ADOPTED on this 7th day May 2024.



ATTEST:

County Clerk and Recorder and Ex-Officio Clerk to said Board

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF HUERFANO COUNTY, COLORADO

BY

John Galusha, Chairman

Arica Andreatta, Commissioner

Karl Sporleder, Commissioner