

# **RESOLUTION NO. 2022-017**

## A RESOLUTION OF THE TOWN COMMISSION OF THE TOWN OF HIGHLAND BEACH, FLORIDA, AUTHORIZING A ONE-TIME ECONOMIC RELIEF PAYMENT TO NON-UNION AND UNION EMPLOYEES; AND PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE.

**WHEREAS**, the Town of Highland Beach, Florida, is a duly constituted municipality having such power and authority conferred upon it by the Florida Constitution and Chapter 166, Florida Statutes; and,

WHEREAS, the Town Commission recognizes the financial stress being experienced by Town employees due to the inflationary and recessionary pressures within the current United States economy; and,

WHEREAS, the Town Commission values its non-unionized and unionized employees and wishes to provide a one-time, budget neutral economic relief payment to employees to help mitigate the financial stress caused by current economic conditions; and,

**WHEREAS**, the Town Commission understands the importance of retaining its valuable workforce amidst these challenging and unsettled economic times.

# NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE TOWN COMMISSION OF THE TOWN OF HIGHLAND BEACH, FLORIDA, THAT:

**<u>SECTION 1</u>**. The Town Commission hereby establishes the following one-time, budget neutral economic relief payment for its non-union and union employees:

- 1) Non-Union Employees 5% of base pay; and,
- 2) Union Employees 2.5% of base pay.

<u>SECTION 2.</u> The Town Commission hereby authorizes the Finance Director to make the necessary budget adjustments effectuate the one-time FY 2021 - 2022 budget neutral employee economic relief payments.

**<u>SECTION 3.</u>** This resolution shall become effective upon adoption.

Resolution No. 22-017

DONE AND ADOPTED by the Town Commission of the Town of Highland Beach, Florida,

this <u>04</u> day of <u>August</u> 2022.

#### ATTEST:

Douglas Hillman, Mayor

### **REVIEWED FOR LEGAL** SUFFICIENCY

Lanelda Gaskins, MMC Town Clerk Glen Torcivia, Town Attorney Town of Highland Beach

#### **VOTES:**

#### YES NO

Mayor Douglas Hillman Vice Mayor Natasha Moore Commissioner Peggy Gossett-Seidman Commissioner Evalyn David Commissioner John Shoemaker