## CITY OF GUSTAVUS, ALASKA RESOLUTION CY22-16

## A RESOLUTION BY THE CITY OF GUSTAVUS APPOINTING ELECTION OFFICIALS FOR THE 2022 MUNICIPAL ELECTION

**WHEREAS,** the City of Gustavus Code of Ordinance 5.10.130 (b) requires that for each municipal election "Prior to each election, the clerk with the approval through a resolution of the council, shall appoint at least three (3) city voters as election officials/judges to be the election board at the designated polling place."; and,

**WHEREAS,** one election official shall be designated chair of the board. The election officials shall not be council members, candidates for office, or immediate relatives of candidates; and,

**WHEREAS,** if an appointed election official fails to appear and subscribe to the oath on election day or becomes incapacitated during the time of the election or the counting of the ballots, the remaining officials shall appoint a qualified voter to fill the vacancy; and,

<b>WHEREAS,</b> the City of Gustavus Council hereby authorizes the following qualified electors:			
Kim Ney	Chairperson/Official	Kathy Hocker	Election Official
Bre Ohlson	Election Official	Jake Ohlson	Election Official
Jai Crapella	Election Official	Dawn Walker	Election Official
Melanie Berg	Election Official	Shelley Owens	Election Official

**WHEREAS,** the clerk may appoint as many election officials as needed to conduct an orderly election and to relieve the election officials of undue hardship.

**NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Gustavus City Council approves these electors as the 2022 Municipal Election Officials:

**PASSED** and **APPROVED** by the Gustavus City Council this \_\_\_\_th day of September, 2022, and effective upon adoption.

Mike Taylor, Mayor

Attest: Karen Platt CMC, City Clerk