

National Cities, Towns and Villages Month May 2024

Whereas, the National League of Cities was founded in 1924 in Lawrence, Kansas, as the American Municipal Association by state municipal leagues seeking more coordination and national representation as cities, towns, and villages expanded rapidly; Whereas, the nonpartisan National League of Cities is the oldest and largest organization representing municipal governments throughout the United States, representing the interests of more than 19,000 cities, towns, and villages across the country;

Whereas today, the National League of Cities works in partnership with 49 state municipal leagues across the country to strengthen local leadership, drive innovation, and influence the federal policies that impact local programs and operations; Whereas, as the voice of cities, towns, and villages in Washington, DC, the National League of Cities has successfully championed federal legislative solutions that support municipalities and has worked closely with Congress and the Executive Branch to educate policymakers on the realities of local implementation;

Whereas, The City of Grass Valley is a proud member of the National League of Cities, and has benefited from the organization's research, technical expertise, federal advocacy and opportunities to learn from other local governments;

Whereas, local governments are the bedrock of American democracy, providing 336 million residents with the most accountable, responsive, inclusive, ethical, and transparent government in the world;

Whereas, from the nation's smallest villages to its largest cities, America's local governments have been essential in transforming the United States of America into the greatest, most influential nation in world history;

Now, therefore, be it resolved that the City of Grass Valley hereby proclaims May 2024 as **National Cities, Towns, and Villages Month** in celebration of America's local governments and the National League of Cities' historic centennial anniversary.

Dated this 28 day of May 2024	
Jan Arbuckle, Mayor	Hilary Hodge, Vice Mayor
Haven Carav	velli, Council Member
Bob Branstrom, Council Member	Thomas Ivy, Council Member