|--|

A JOINT RESOLUTION OF ARANSAS COUNTY, TEXAS, THE TOWN OF FULTON, TEXAS, THE CITY OF ARANSAS PASS, TEXAS, THE ARANSAS COUNTY NAVIGATION DISTRICT AND THE CITY OF ROCKPORT, TEXAS, CREATING THE STORMWATER MANAGEMENT TECHNICAL COMMITTEE; PROVIDING AN EFFECTIVE DATE; AND FINDING AND DETERMINING THAT THE MEETING AT WHICH THIS RESOLUTION IS PASSED IS OPEN TO THE PUBLIC AS REQUIRED BY LAW.

- WHEREAS, upon the adoption of this resolution to establish a Stormwater Management Technical Committee, the existing Stormwater and Floodplain Management Advisory Committee shall be dissolved; and
- WHEREAS, all entities will be authorized to appoint, as may be required by the laws of the State of Texas, or deemed desirable by each entity, such boards, commissions, and committees as deemed necessary to carry out the functions and obligations of the entities; and
- **WHEREAS**, by fostering unity and cooperation, the citizens of Aransas County may benefit from collaborative efforts maximizing resources, expertise and knowledge to better serve the community for reduced flood risks and overall enhanced community flood resilience.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED AS FOLLOWS by the Aransas County Commissioners Court, the Town Council of the Town of Fulton, the City Council of the City of Aransas Pass, the Aransas County Navigation District Commissioners, and the City Council of the City of Rockport that the Stormwater Management Technical Committee (SMTC) is hereby established as follows:

Section 1: Core Values

The core values of the Stormwater Management Technical Committee are as follows:

- 1. Strive for technical excellence,
- 2. Maintain transparency between entities and with the public,
- 3. Seek optimal balance between drainage needs and water quality needs, and
- 4. Promote respect for the sovereignty of participating entities.

Section 2: Appointments

1. The Stormwater Management Technical Committee shall consist of five (5) voting members, who shall elect among themselves a chairman and provide a staff administrator as secretary.

- 2. The Chairman shall be appointed annually at the first meeting of the calendar year and shall preside over the meetings and call for votes as necessary.
- 3. The SMTC Secretary shall record and distribute meeting agendas and minutes to members of the committee.
- 4. Aransas County, the Town of Fulton, the City of Aransas Pass, The Navigation District, and the City of Rockport shall each appoint one (1) voting member and one (1) alternate each calendar year. Members may be reappointed annually until the need arises for a new member/alternate to be identified.
- 5. Appointees shall serve until replaced by their respective entities
- 6. Appointees and alternates shall have such technical knowledge so as to make specialized and complex storm water management decisions in the best interest of the community without regard for political boundaries.
- 7. Appointees shall provide, at minimum, quarterly reports to their respective political entities to ensure the work of the committee is consistent with each entity's goals and planning.

Section 3: Charge

- 1. The SMTC shall conduct, at minimum, monthly meetings to discuss relevant stormwater issues.
- 2. Establish a concise storm water management criteria document which will be adopted by all governmental entities and applied to all drainage projects in Aransas County.
- 3. Monitor progress and implementation of the county wide drainage plan including construction oversight and management.
- 4. Establish a prioritized list of Capital Improvement Projects (CIPs) based on scientific data to be adopted by all entities.
- 5. Develop a plan for the funding of CIPs in conjunction with the political entities.
- 6. Seek qualified, professional services as needed for design, construction, and consultation.
- 7. The SMTC shall develop a criteria to determine which drainage plans will require full committee review and which may remain under existing processes for informal/staff reviews in each jurisdiction.