

AGENDA ITEM COVER SHEET

TO: FRUITA CITY COUNCIL AND MAYOR

FROM: MARGARET SELL, FINANCE DIRECTOR/CITY CLERK

DATE: FEBRUARY 6, 2024

AGENDA TEXT: ELECTION COMMISSION APPOINTMENTS - A request to ratify the

appointment of Emma-Leigh Larsen and Stephen Ryken to the Election Commission

BACKGROUND

ELECTION COMMISSION

Section 6.03.02 of the Fruita City Charter sets forth requirements for the appointment of an Election Commission by the Mayor. The Election Commission shall consist of the City Clerk who shall be Chairman and two other members at large. At large members shall not be city officers, employees, candidates or nominees for elective city office. These two (2) members shall be appointed by the Mayor with ratification from the City Council for a term of two (2) years.

Powers and duties of the Election Commission include the following:

- Establish precincts
- Appoint Election Judges and Clerks for each Precinct
- Adopt reasonable rules and regulations not in conflict with the Constitution and Statutes of the State of Colorado, this Charter, and ordinances of the City of Fruita.
- In the event of a tie vote, the Election Commission shall determine by lot the person or persons who shall be elected.

Attached are Board and Commission applications from Emma-Leigh Larsen and Stephen Ryken for your information and review. The term of appointment will be from February 15, 2024 thru February 15, 2026.

FISCAL IMPACT

None. Board and Commissions are unpaid volunteers for the City of Fruita.

APPLICABILITY TO CITY GOALS AND OBJECTIVES

The appointment of an independent Election Commission helps to ensure fairness and proper conduct of elections.

OPTIONS AVAILABLE TO THE COUNCIL

Ratify the appointments recommended by the Mayor

• Instruct staff to publish notice of vacancy and accept applications for the Election Commission

RECOMMENDATION

It is the recommendation of Mayor Kincaid that the following appointments be ratified:

APPOINT EMMA-LEIGH LARSEN AND STEPHEN RYKEN TO THE ELECTION COMMISSION FOR A TWO-YEAR TERM (FEBRUARY 15, 2024 THRU FEBRUARY 15, 2025)