AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

City Council



STAFF

Josh Birks, Deputy Director, Sustainability Services

SUBJECT

Resolution 2024-055 Appointing Amanda Cossey, Troy Erickson, Casey Kittel, Danielle Lowry, and Aryell Mattern to the Fort Collins Tourism Improvement District Board of Directors.

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The purpose of this item is to consider the appointments of Amanda Cossey, Troy Erickson, Casey Kittel, Danielle Lowry, and Aryell Mattern to the Fort Collins Tourism Improvement District (the "District") Board of Directors. Amanda Cossey will serve a three-year term to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of another member. Troy Erickson will serve the remainder of a three-year term ending on September 1, 2024, due to early resignation. Casey Kittel will serve the remainder of the term ending January 17, 2026, vacated by a resignation. Danielle Lowry will serve a second term lasting three years starting as soon as appointed by Council. Aryell Mattern will serve a three-year term starting as soon as appointed by Council.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION

Staff recommends adoption of the Resolution.

BACKGROUND / DISCUSSION

On August 4, 2021, Council adopted Ordinance No. 097, 2021, establishing the District. The District's purpose is "...to operate as a [tourism improvement district] charging fees to the lodging businesses included within the District to fund and provide specific tourism services and improvements for the benefit of the feepayers' lodging businesses. These services and improvements will be primarily used to increase room night sales for those lodging businesses."

Council adopted the District's Initial Plan as part of establishing the District and authorized the appointment of five directors to the Board. On June 7, 2022, Council adopted Ordinance No. 061, 2022, expanding the number of directors on the District Board to seven members.

This Resolution would appoint Amanda Cossey, Troy Erickson, Casey Kittel, Danielle Lowry, and Aryell Mattern to the District Board. The Board adopted resolutions nominating all five proposed directors in 2023. These resolutions are attached. Additional details about the term length and reason for appointment are noted below:

 Amanda Cossey will serve a three-year term to fill the vacancy created by resigned Board member, Sandra Frederickson. Sandra resigned her position in July 2022 and the seat has remained vacant since. This seat is for an individual to represent large, full-service lodging businesses.

- Troy Erickson will serve the remainder of the three-year term of resigned Board member, George Prine.
 George resigned his position on December 1, 2023, before the end of his term, which was originally intended to end on September 1, 2024. Troy will serve as one of the directors representing boutique/specialty lodging businesses.
- Casey Kittel will serve for the remainder of the term of resigned Board member, Daniel Benton. Daniel resigned on September 1, 2023, well ahead of the end of his term January 17, 2026. Casey will serve as one of the directors representing large, full-service lodging businesses.
- Danielle Lowry served an initial two-year term ending on September 1, 2023. The Board would like
 Danielle to serve another three-year term on the Board to begin on January 1, 2024, or when appointed
 by the Council to serve a Successor Term. Danielle will serve as a director representing small, limitedservice lodging businesses.
- Aryell Mattern served the remainder of a two-year term vacated by the resignation of another director.
 That initial term expired on September 1, 2023. The Board would like Aryell to serve another three-year
 term on the Board to being on January 1, 2024, or when appointed by the Council to serve a Successor
 Term. Aryell will serve as a director representing large, full-service lodging businesses.

CITY	FIN	ΔN	CIA	I IM	PΔ	CTS

None.

BOARD / COMMISSION / COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION

None.

PUBLIC OUTREACH

None.

ATTACHMENTS

- 1. Resolution for Consideration
- 2. District Board Nominating Resolution for Aryell Mattern
- 3. District Board Nominating Resolution for Danielle Lowry
- 4. District Board Nominating Resolution for Troy Erickson
- 5. District Board Nominating Resolution for Amanda Cossey
- 6. District Board Nominating Resolution for Casey Kittel