## CITY COMMISSION BOARD AND COMMITTEE MEMBERS

### America In Bloom (Lake County Chapter)

America in Bloom (AIB) believes that communities are more welcoming and vibrant with colorful plants and trees in clean environments. But it's not just about plants! They also encourage celebrating your town's unique heritage and beautifying your community through volunteerism. The Committee's programs promote beautification, clean communities, and celebrating community. America In Bloom (AIB) promotes nationwide beautification through education and community involvement by encouraging the use of flowers, plants, trees, and other environmental and lifestyle enhancements. AIB envisions communities across the country as welcoming and vibrant places to live, work, and play – benefiting from colorful plants and trees; enjoying clean environments; celebrating heritage; and planting pride through volunteerism.

2025 -

2024 – Emily Lee as City Commission liaison and Nan Cobb as Alternate

2023 – Nan Cobb and Emily Lee as City Commission liaisons (Emily Lee is backup)

2022 – Nan Cobb and Emily Lee as City Commission liaisons (unofficial)

#### **Audit Committee**

Appointed by the City Commission; meets with auditors in March; Commission's representative regarding the audit. This position is usually held by the Mayor.

Contact: Lori Carr, Finance Director, carrl@eustis.org (352) 483-5440

2025 -

2024 - Michael Holland

2023 - Michael Holland

2022 – Michael Holland

## Lake Community Action Agency, Inc. Board of Directors (LCAA)

Representative appointed by the City Commission annually; meets monthly; function is to review and approve all actions of the LCAA; LCAA By-Laws state – a public official who is appointed by his/her colleagues to serve may select a representative to serve in his/her place or in his/her absence. This representative need not be a public official themselves, but they shall have full authority to act for the public officials who they represent at meetings of the Board. Meets on the last Wednesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Main Office located at 501 N. Bay Street.

Contact: Helen Ellis, Executive Secretary to the Board, <a href="MelenE@lakecaa.org">HelenE@lakecaa.org</a>, and James Lowe, Executive Director, <a href="JamesL@lakecaa.org">JamesL@lakecaa.org</a>, 357-3497.

2025 -

2024 – Willie Hawkins as Primary Representative

2023 - Willie Hawkins as Primary Representative

2022 – Willie Hawkins as Primary Representative; Karen LeHeup-Smith as Alternate

## **Lake County Arts and Cultural Alliance**

The purpose of this board is to elevate community awareness and appreciation of the arts in Lake County. Board consists of 15 members, one from each municipality and one at-large member appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. The representative is appointed by the City Commission for a three-year term. Nan Cobb was previously appointed as an alternate to this committee and subsequently became the liaison.

Contact: Tiffani Hubbert, Office of Visit Lake, PH: 352-742-3924

2025 -

2024 – Nan Cobb; Pam Rivas as Alternate 2023 – Nan Cobb; Pam Rivas as Alternate

2022 - Nan Cobb; no Alternate

# **Lake County Educational Concurrency Review Committee**

Representative appointed by the City Commission annually; meets at least annually (December – first or second week usually) but more often if needed, and will hear reports and discuss issues concerning school concurrency; members may be elected officials or citizens. Currently, all cities are represented by an elected official.

Contact: Dawn McDonald, Senior Planner, Lake County School District, mcdonaldd@lake.k12.fl.us, 253-6694.

2025 -

2024 - Willie Hawkins

2023 - Willie Hawkins

2022 - Willie Hawkins

# Lake County League of Cities Representative

Appointed by the City Commission; meets for luncheon/meeting (noon) on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Friday of each month at Mount Dora Golf Course, 1100 S. Highland St., Mount Dora; function is to resolve localized municipal issues; the By-Laws provide that each member may designate one elected official to serve as the Director and that Director shall exercise that member city's vote on the Board of Directors. Contact: Jim Myers, Executive Director, LakeLeague1@comcast.net.

2025 –

2024 – Michael Holland as Director and Emily Lee as Alternate Director

2023 - Michael Holland as Director and Emily Lee as Alternate Director

2022 - Michael Holland as Director and Emily Lee as Alternate Director

## Lake-Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Governing Board

Representative appointed by City Commission; typically meets on the 4<sup>th</sup> Wednesday of every other month at 2:00 p.m. at their office located at 1300 Citizens Blvd. Suite 175, Leesburg, FL 34748; it provides a forum for cooperative decision-making concerning transportation issues throughout the urbanized area of Lake and Sumter counties. The Governing Board is made up of 13 voting representatives and 9 non-voting representatives. All voting representatives shall be elected officials of general-purpose local governments and be selected by said governing board. Term shall be four years. A member may be appointed for one or more additional four-year terms. FDOT Interlocal Agreement for Creation of the Lake Sumter Metropolitan Planning Organization signed January 6, 2004.

Contact: Michael Woods, Executive Director, mwoods@LakeSumterMPO.com, 315-0170 ext. 2.

2025 -

2024 - Gary Ashcraft as Member and Nan Cobb as Alternate

2023 – Gary Ashcraft as Member

2022 - Nan Cobb as Member with Willie Hawkins as Alternate

#### Lake Eustis Area Chamber of Commerce Board

Prior to 2020, the Chamber's bylaws provided for the City to appoint a Commissioner to serve on the Chamber's Executive Board; however, they have since changed their bylaws. They requested that the City Manager or his designee be appointed as the City's representative to the Chamber. Then City Manager assumed the position as liaison at that time, currently City Manager Tom Carrino attends these meetings. Unless the Commission decides otherwise, this appointment will not be included in the resolution and the City Manager will continue to be the City's designated liaison.

2025 -

2024 - Tom Carrino, City Manager

2023 - Tom Carrino, City Manager

2022 - Tom Carrino, City Manager

#### **Open Door**

The Open Door is an outreach program providing services and resources to people who are homeless or in transition.

2025 -

2024 – Gary Ashcraft as City Liaison with Nan Cobb as Alternate

2023 - Gary Ashcraft as City Liaison and Nan Cobb as Alternate

# Upper Ocklawaha Basin Working Group (Department of Environmental Protection) and Wekiva River Basin Working Group

Elected official appointed by the City Commission; the full working group meets twice a year (typically March and September); the Upper Ocklawaha Basin Management Action Plan identifies actions and commitments to restore and protect water quality in the Upper Ocklawaha River Basin. Its implementation will benefit surface waters throughout Lake and part of Orange Counties, including the Clermont Chain of Lakes connected by the Palatlakaha River, Lake Apopka, Lake Griffin, and the Harris Chain of Lakes. Meetings are usually held at the Leesburg Community Center Venetian Gardens, 109 East Dixie Avenue (SR 44) – building on the west side of the entry driveway from 9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Contact: Mary Paulic, Department of Environmental Protection, <a href="mary.paulic@dep.state.fl.us">mary.paulic@dep.state.fl.us</a>, 850-245-8560.

\*Groups are no longer meeting and will advise if/when meetings resume.

2023 – Emily Lee as member

2022 - Emily Lee as member