

Effingham Champions Day- USSSA National Championship Friday, October 20, 2023

WHEREAS, the youth of Effingham County Recreation & Parks 9th and 10th grade basketball team is deserving of recognition. The Effingham Bulldogs won the USSSA National Championship in Tampa, FL on July 2, 2023.

UNITED STATES SPECIALITY SPORTS ASSOCIATION BASEBALL NATIONAL CHAMPIONS

10th GRADE BOYS ROSTER

Jabari Griffin Lamar Roberts Damion Gordon Javlen Holmes Cleveland Rougier Micah Faith Zach Gant Corbin McGuire Nelson Rivera Harrison Crofts Corey Coppock Johnathan Pickering

Head Coach – Roy Griffin

Assistant Coaches – Damion Gordon, Dante Griffin, Johnnie Holmes

9th GRADE BOYS ROSTER

Antonio Williams Jr. Danye Garvin Hayden Lloyd Earl Williams Jr. Joshua Mincey Alijah McField Antwan Parham Gracen Ambrose Anthony Davis Jr. Meechie Brown Lonnie Brown Reese Adams Alex Chancey

Head Coach – Antonio Williams

Assistant Coaches – Darrel Collier and Fallon Mincey

WHEREAS, the spirit and enthusiasm for athletic competition will be inspired by the recognition of the achievements in our county; and

WHEREAS, our young people will see and hear of this honor fueling their desire to achieve the same kind of excellence; and

WHEREAS, the rarity with which this kind of achievement occurs merits some acknowledgement of appreciation; and

WHEREAS, local citizens, businesses and organizations shall celebrate Effingham County Recreation for its commitment to young people and these special honorees of Effingham County for their dedication, commitment, and distinction in their arena of sport;

NOW, THEREFORE, in full appreciation for the amazing accomplishment attained by the youth of this county and the honor brought to each member of this county by their perseverance and performance in the 2023 USSSA National basketball season proclaim that October 20, 2023 be known as, "EFFINGHAM CHAMPIONS DAY" and call upon the citizens of this community to observe this day in a proper manner honoring these young athletes.

On this 17th day of October, in the year of our Lord two thousand and twenty-three.

Wesley Corbitt – Chairman Chairman at Large

Jamie DeLoach – District 3 Commissioner **Forrest Floyd – District 1** Commissioner **Roger Burdette – District 2** Commissioner

Reggie Loper – District 4 Commissioner Phil Keiffer – District 5 Commissioner

