## **RESOLUTION IMPLEMENTING VISION ZERO INITIATIVE**

Resolution#024-028

**WHEREAS**, the Effingham County is responsible for providing reasonable protections for the public health and safety of its residents, including access to reasonably safe streets, sidewalks, and transportation; and

**WHEREAS**, County streets should be maintained in a reasonably safe condition for use by the public; and

**WHEREAS**, each year, more than 40,000 lives are needlessly lost on American streets, and thousands more are injured; and

**WHEREAS**, the number of people struck and killed by drivers nationwide while walking increased by 45% over the last decade; and

**WHEREAS**, older adults, people of color, and people walking in low-income communities are disproportionately represented in fatal crashes; even after accounting for population sizes and walking rate differences; and

**WHEREAS**, Georgia ranks 9<sup>th</sup> in the nation for the most dangerous state for people to travel, with 1,700 traffic fatalities in 2020; and

**WHEREAS**, the Effingham County acknowledges that serious traffic crashes are preventable, that fatal and severe crashes can be significantly diminished through a Safe Systems approach, and saving life is an objective of the highest order; and

**WHEREAS**, it would be beneficial to adopt a comprehensive plan to address the multifaceted nature of traffic safety in the Effingham County; and

**WHEREAS**, Vision Zero aims to achieve zero traffic fatalities and zero serious injuries in the roadway, and has successfully reduced fatalities and serious injuries in cities where it has been implemented; and

**WHEREAS**, commitment to Vision Zero can achieve safe, healthy, and equitable mobility for all road users by providing a holistic approach to road safety, infrastructure improvements, and policies; and

**WHEREAS**, the design of the public rights-of-way has a significant impact upon driver behavior, and complete streets and effective street design operate to save lives.

**NOW, THEREFORE,** Effingham County hereby **RESOLVE** to launch the County-wide Vision Zero initiative with the aim of zero traffic fatalities and serious injuries within the County limits by the year 2050: public safety shall be a priority in designing and building the County's public rights-of-way.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Effingham County will begin implementing its Vision Zero initiative through the Comprehensive Safety Action plan it has developed through the Safe Streets for All funding program in achieving this goal. This body also commits to re-evaluating these goals and associated planning efforts at least once every 3 years, as policies, funding opportunities, and economic feasibility of this commitment evolve.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Effingham County will develop and implement policies and programs that lead to a comprehensive effort to successfully support this initiative.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, that to the extent practicable the Effingham County will develop procedures for implementing Complete Streets, Traffic Calming Measures, and Street Redesign, with an equitable approach to all County rights-of-way.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that the County may request additional funds in subsequent fiscal year budgets and will actively pursue grant opportunities, as well as State and Federal partnerships to be used solely for the purpose of this resolution.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that these efforts would work in a manner to address not just roadway safety but bicycle and pedestrian safety and mobility County-wide to ensure reasonably complete and safe streets for all users.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED**, nothing contained herein shall be construed to waive the County's sovereign immunity, nor shall it be construed to assume duties or obligations pertaining to its rights-of-way beyond those imposed by federal, state, or local law.

RESOLVED, this \_\_\_\_\_ day of August, 2024.

Board of Commissioners of Effingham County, Georgia

Effingham

By: \_\_\_\_\_

Wesley M. Corbitt Its: Chairman at Large

ATTEST:

Stephanie Johnson

County

Clerk