

## FROM THE OFFICE OF THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF EFFINGHAM COUNTY, GEORGIA

WHEREAS, the mission of the National Association for the Advancement of the Colored People (NAACP), founded February 12, 1909, established its mission as to "ensure the political, educational, social, and economic equality of the rights of all persons and to eliminate race-based discrimination."

WHEREAS, following in the tradition of its national mission, the Effingham County Branch of the NAACP received its charter as an official chapter on November 3, 1968, nearly fifty years ago.

WHEREAS, the distinguished President of the Savannah Branch of the NAACP, W.W. Law, presented this charter to the four original officers of the Effingham County Branch of the NAACP: Reverend Thomas Kent, President; Homer Wallace, Vice president; Ruth Griffin, Secretary; and Lynwood Griffin, Treasurer, on November 3, 1968.

WHEREAS, over the course of its more than fifty-year history, the Effingham County Branch of the NAACP has continued to maintain its mission under the leadership of its five Presidents: Reverend Thomas Kent, Homer Wallace, Juanita Woods, Leroy Lloyd and its current President, Reverend Delmons White.

WHEREAS, on September 30, 2023, the Effingham County Branch of the NAACP will celebrate another year at the Freedom Fund Gala at the Guyton Civic center. The theme of this Gala is "And the Dream Lives On."

WHEREAS, the Effingham County Branch of the NAACP continues to exhibit a strong sphere of influence in the extended Effingham County community as it strives to "ensure the political, educational, social, and economic rights of all persons" with its ultimate goal "the elimination of race-based discrimination."

BE IT RESOLVED, we the sitting Commissioners of Effingham County recognizes this milestone and celebrate the history of the Effingham County Branch of the NAACP

Humbly submitted this  $19^{\text{th}}$  day of September, in the year of our Lord two thousand and twenty-three

WESLEY M. CORBITT, Chairman-at-Large