

RESOLUTION

FROM THE DESK OF THE EFFINGHAM COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Recognition of The Abercorn Baptist Church's 200th Anniversary

WHEREAS, the village of Abercorn was established in the year of 1733, ten families settled there waiting, along with their pastor, for their homes to be built in Ebenezer. In a short period of time Abercorn proved unsuitable for the Salzburger families and Abercorn was again abandoned to take its place among the other void towns of Georgia and;

WHEREAS, as history revealed eighty-eight years later, the saga of Abercorn lived again in October 1882. Founders were the late Rev. James Sweat and the late Rev. Henry Cook. The church was controlled by white ministers until the war between the states began: after peace was declared the late Rev. U.L. Houston and other ministers lead the church namely Rev. Andrew Johnson and Rev. B. A. Lanier. during the early years and;

WHEREAS, several pastors were called to serve between the years of 1929-1961. Within this time period the church was destroyed by fire, six months later the church stone was laid and the church was soon rebuilt and;

WHEREAS, on May 26, 1975 the church was moved to its present location on Old Augusta Road. Sunday school, bible study and several other activities resumed along with discussion to erect a new building and;

WHEREAS, years later sketches of plans were provided to Mr. Lee Myer Building & Architecture; on March 11, 2002 the groundbreaking for a New Edifice was held to include to sitting County Commissioners in attendance, Homer Wallace and Phillip King and;

WHEREAS, on Sunday, April 12, 2005 the church body moved into the new sanctuary where they continue to share in fellowship and worship and;

THEREFORE, a celebratory event will be held on June 5, 2022 to observe the founding of the Church and now;

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of Commissioners of Effingham County, Georgia to join the Abercorn Baptist Church family in celebrating this 200th year commemoration of the Abercorn Baptist Church. We further honor the forefathers and foremothers who so graciously laid the foundation to establish this edifice of refuge and pillar of comfort for this community.

Humbly submitted this 17th day of May, in the Year of our Lord, 2022.

Wesley Corbitt - Chairman

Forrest Floyd - 1st District

Roger Burdette - 2nd District

Jamie Deloach - 3rd District

Reginald Loper - 4th District

Phil Kieffer - 5th District