

Memo

To: Mayor Dowless, Council President Horn,

Council Members Chotas Lomas, Pierce, and Rader

From: Sandra Riffle, City Clerk

Date: April 14, 2023

Re: 2023 Council Assignments

Council Assignments

The Code provides the following:

Section 3.12.- Areas of responsibility.

Upon the start of a new council session, the council president shall designate areas of responsibility (not already under the jurisdiction of the mayor) to be assigned to individual council members. Each council member shall assume responsibility for the assigned area and execute his/her other responsibilities within the broad guidelines established by the council. The council members shall render reports regarding other areas during a regular or special meeting of the council.

The areas of responsibility with the current assignments are the following:

Area of Responsibility	Designated Assignments on April 19, 2022
Finance	Councilmember Ben Pierce
Code Compliance	Councilmember Lee Chotas
HAINC Liaison	Council President Richard A. Horn
Cypress Grove Liaison	Council President Richard A. Horn
Land Development/Master Plan	Councilmember Chris Rader
Public Works	Councilmember Susan Lomas
Police Department*	Mayor John Dowless
City Hall*	Mayor John Dowless
Contract Staff*	Mayor John Dowless

^{*} Pursuant to Section 4.04 of the *City Charter*, the mayor has jurisdiction over the police department, city hall, and contract staff.

The Code does not provide the duties associated with Councilmembers' Charter designated responsibility. Historically, Council members serve as City liaisons when contacting various agencies and elected officials to aid the City in projects and other types of assistance that may be needed.