

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: August 16, 2022

Agenda Item Wording: Approval of the reappointment of Bonnie Humphrey, Russell Paxton,

Gordon DeWitte, Mike Jones and Bill Little to the Emergency Management Commission for terms ending January 1, 2024, and the appointment of Sirenna Cumberland as the DSISD Representative for a

term ending January 1, 2024.

Agenda Item Requestor: Roman Baligad, Emergency Management Coordinator

Summary/Background: This item was on the January 21, 2021 City Council agenda, where there was no

action taken.

Member Responsibilities

Section 2.04.196.1:

- (a) The commission shall advise the city council on recommended policies and application of policies for the development and implementation of an emergency management plan for the city and ETJ.
- (b) The commission shall advise the city council on recommended interlocal and mutual aid agreements related to emergency management operations in preparation for, during, and after a disaster or state of emergency.
- (c) The commission shall review and evaluate all current municipal ordinances of the city, identify provisions that relate to or apply to emergency management, and make recommendations to the city council for needed changes and/or additions.
- (d) The commission shall manage, staff, and operate an area emergency operations center when disaster, major incident, or event dictates that level of support to first responders in accordance with the approved City Emergency Management Plan, state law, and county and state plans as applicable.
- (e) Identify and engage in protection, prevention, mitigation, response, and recovery planning and activities related to local conditions and needs.
- (f) Recommend an annual operating budget for emergency management services with the assistance of the emergency management coordinator to the city council each fiscal year.

Member Selection

Section 2.04.195(e):

(1) Each year staff will prepare a slate of nominees for city council consideration. The slate will include nominees with a background and experience in those activities related to emergency management. The chair

- shall provide a recommendation for members seeking appointment or reappointment.
- (2) The city council shall approve, reject, or modify the slate of nominees.

Membership Requirements

Section 2.04.195(c)(1):

- (1) The commission shall have 12 voting members,
 - (A) Three at-large members that shall be reside within Hays County.
 - (B) One each.
 - (i.) Municipal member designated as emergency management coordinator;
 - (ii.) Chamber of commerce representative;
 - (iii.) Nonprofit organization;
 - (iv.) Hays County Constable or designee;
 - (v.) Emergency Services District Number 1 representative;
 - (vi.) Emergency Services District Number 6 representative;
 - (vii.) Hays County Emergency Manager or designee;
 - (viii.) Dripping Springs Independent School District; and
 - (ix.) Hays County Fire Marshal or designee.

Officer Appointments

Section 2.04.195(d)(2): The chair and vice-chair shall be appointed by the city council and serve a one-year term. There is no limit to the number of terms the chair or vice-chair may serve. In the event that the chair or vice-chair are absent, the emergency management coordinator will preside.

Current Membership

Member	Term	Seat Description (old ordinance)
Bonnie Humphrey, Chair	01/01/22	Business Community
Bill Little, Vice Chair	01/01/22	At-Large
Roman Baligad	N/A	Emergency Management Coordinator
Scott Collard	01/01/23	Emergency Response
Gordon DeWitte	01/01/22	Volunteer Services Organization
Doug Fowler	01/01/23	Emergency Response
Ron Hood	01/01/23	Precinct 4 Constable
Mike Jones	01/01/22	Hays County Representative
Jason McNutt	01/01/23	At-Large
Russell Paxton	01/01/22	Nonprofit Organization
Dillon Polk	01/01/23	At-Large
Vacancy 1	01/01/22	DSISD Representative

^{**}There is an additional Emergency Management Commission item regarding alignment of current members to the above categories as approved in December 2021, Ordinance 2021-53.

Vacancies and Applicants

There are six (6) seats that expired January 1, 2022, and no applications were received for this commission. All current members have requested reappointment per Emergency Management Coordinator Roman Baligad.

The DSISD recently hired a new Director of Safety, Sirenna Cumberland. Roman Baligad has spoken with Sirenna regarding the seat on the Commission to which she has agreed to fill.

Commission Recommendations:

Chair Humphrey recommends the reappointment of Bonnie Humphrey, Russell Paxton, Gordon DeWitte, Mike Jones and Bill Little to the Emergency Management Commission for terms ending January 1, 2024.

Recommended Council Actions:

Emergency Management Coordinator Roman Baligad recommends the reappointment of Bonnie Humphrey, Russell Paxton, Gordon DeWitte, Mike Jones and Bill Little to the Emergency Management Commission for terms ending January 1, 2024; and the appointment of Sirenna Cumberland as the DSISD Representative for a term ending January 1, 2024.

Attachments:

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Inform members of Council decision
- 2. Update roster and website