OF DRIPPING STRIPPING INC. 1987 White White White Charles TEXAS	STAFF REPORT City of Dripping Springs PO Box 384 511 Mercer Street Dripping Springs, TX 78620
Submitted By:	Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary
Council Meeting Date:	May 11, 2021
Agenda Item Wording:	Approval of the Appointment of Russell Paxton to the Emergency Management Commission as representative of Non-Profit Organizations and for a term ending January 1, 2022.
Agenda Item Requestor: Bonnie Humphrey, Emergency Management Commission Chair	
Summary/Background:	The Emergency Management Commission is a twelve-member advisory commission tasked with recommending policies and the application of policies for the development and implementation of an emergency management plan for the city and ETJ. The Committee is responsible for development, implementation, and review of the city's emergency management planning for disasters. The Committee is also responsible for providing information and training on emergency management response. At the January 21, 2021 EMC regular meeting, the Commission accepted the resignation of Non-Profit Representative Amy Roedl, leaving the Commission with a seat vacancy set to expire January 1, 2022. Russell Paxton's application was received April 15, 2021, and he is a former member of the Commission.
Commission Recommendations:	Chair Bonnie Humphrey interviewed Russell and is recommending his appointment to the Commission for a term ending January 1, 2022.
Recommended Council Actions:	Staff recommends approval of the appointment.
Attachments:	Russell Paxton Application
Next Steps/Schedule:	Inform applicant of City Council decision; update roster and website; send meeting invites and add to email distribution list.