

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: July 5, 2023

Agenda Item Wording: Approval of the Appointment of Gouri Johannsen, Teresa Strube, Erika

Fritz, and Claudia Oney to the Farmers Market Committee for terms ending June 30, 2025, and the Appointment of Gouri Johannsen as the

Committee Chair for a term of one (1) year.

Agenda Item Requestor: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

FMC Member Responsibilities

Summary/Background:

Section 6.05.002: The purpose of the Dripping Springs Farmers Market Committee (the "committee") is to: Fulfill the mission of the market; Provide oversight of the market in order to make recommendations related to the market; and Serve as an advisory body for the city council.

Section 6.05.006: The committee is advisory only. They have no authority to make decisions binding on the city. The authority of the committee will include: To make recommendations to the city council regarding market operations; To evaluate the market to identify means of making improvements; To make recommendations related to the drafting and implementation of all rules and procedures for the market to the city council; To assist city staff with the operations of the market, in addition to preparations and post-event recovery of the site; To make recommendations to city council regarding budget for the farmers market and expenditures related to appropriated funds; To perform other duties as established in the rules and regulations for market operations, as enacted by the city council; The committee's work and work product will be subject to the Public Information Act, Texas Government Code chapter 552.

Member Selection

Section 6.05.005(c): Every year, city staff will prepare a slate of nominees for city council consideration. Committee members shall be appointed by majority vote of the city council. Committee members may be residents or business owners in the city limits or ETJ or within 150 miles of the city limits. At least two committee members must be market vendors of which one shall be an agricultural producer. Although not strictly required, preference for committee membership shall be given to persons who raise, grow or make food products, or artists who make crafts from agricultural products.

Membership Requirements

Resident or business owner located in the City Limits or ETJ, or within 150 miles of the city limits. At least two members must be market vendors

Officer Appointments

The chair shall be appointed by the city council from among the membership. A vice-chair shall be selected by the committee members. In the absence of the chair or vice-chair, the remaining committee members may select a person among themselves to preside over a meeting.

Gouri Johannsen has served as the chair of the committee for several years and would like to be considered to continue as the chair.

Membership

The committee shall have eight members who shall serve two-year terms. Members may be reappointed with no limitation on the number of terms one member may serve.

Current Members

Member	Term	Residency	Market Vendor
Gouri Johannsen	06/20/23	ETJ	
Marianne Simmons	06/30/24	ETJ	Market Vendor – Agriculture
Teresa Strube	06/30/23	ETJ	
Nikki Dahlin	06/20/24	City	
Claudia Oney	06/30/23	150 mi	
Janet Musgrove	06/30/24	City	
Erika Fritz	06/30/23	ETJ	Market Vendor – Food
Sherry Parks	06/30/24	City	

Vacancies and Applicants

There are four (4) members with terms that expire June 30, 2023, and no vacancies. All members with expiring terms have requested reappointment.

Current members with seat expirations were notified April 4, 2023, with a response deadline of May 1, 2023. Public notice of application submission deadline was posted in the Century News April 14, 2023, with a submission deadline of May 12, 2023.

Commission Chair Recommendations:

Chair Gouri Johannsen recommends the reappointment of all members.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends approval of the reappointment of Gouri Johannsen, Teresa Strube, Erika Fritz and Claudia Oney for terms ending June 30, 2025, and the reappointment of Gouri Johannsen as the committee chair of a term of one (1) year.

Attachments: 1. Reappointment Requests

Reappointment Requests
Committee Chair recommendation

Next Steps/Schedule: 1. Inform members of Council decision

2. Update roster and website