

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: July 5, 2023

Agenda Item Wording: Approval of the Reappointment of John Pettit to the Transportation

Committee for a term ending June 30, 2025, and the Appointment of

Travis Crow as the Committee Chair for a term of one (1) year.

Agenda Item Requestor: Gouri Johannsen, Farmers Market Committee Chair

Summary/Background: Member Responsibilities

Section 2.04.157 (a): The committee is responsible for organizing an inclusive process for assessing community needs and priorities in an orderly fashion and providing the council with guidance via a proposed transportation master plan that reflects the skills, creativity, vision, and cooperation of the committee, its members, and any advisors.

Member Selection

Section 2.04.155 (c): Every two years on even years starting in June 2014, city staff will prepare a slate of nominees for city council consideration. The slate will include nominees including but not limited to those with a background and experience in civil engineering, land/transportation planning, real estate/development, business ownership, and alternative mobility. The slate will only include individuals that city staff has contacted and who have expressed an interest and availability to serve. Potential nominees may express interest in the committee by contacting the city secretary in writing.

Membership Requirements

Resident of City or ETJ, at least one public member must be a city resident.

Officer Appointments

Section 2.04.155 (a): The committee will have eight voting members, one of whom will be the committee chair appointed by the city council. A vice-chair will be selected by the chair and approved by a majority of the transportation committee members. The vice-chair will serve as the chair in the absence of the chair.

Membership

The Commission shall consist of eight voting members, four of which are municipal members (MM), and four public members (PM).

Municipal Members

- 1 City Council Member
- 1 Planning & Zoning Commission member
- 1 Public Works Coordinator / Director
- 1 City Engineer

Public Members

- 1 At-large city resident
- 3 At-large city or ETJ resident

Current Committee

Member	Term	City/ETJ	Seat
Travis Crow, Chair	06/30/24	City	City Council Member
Sharon Hamilton	06/30/24	ETJ	At-Large ETJ Resident
Roman Grijalva	06/30/24	ЕТЈ	At-Large ETJ Resident
John Pettit	06/30/23	City	At-Large City Resident
Doug Crosson	06/30/23	ETJ	P&Z Representative
Jimmy Brown	06/30/24	City	City Engineer
Chad Gilpin	NA		City Engineer
Aaron Reed	NA		Public Works Director

Vacancies and Applicants

There are two (2) expiring seats with one (1) seat being recommended by the Planning & Zoning Commission and confirmed by the City Council. Both members have requested reappointment.

Current members with seat expirations were notified April 4, 2023, with a response deadline of May 1, 2023. Public notice of application submission deadline was posted in the Century News April 14, 2023, with a submission deadline of May 12, 2023.

Committee Recommendation:

Chair Travis Crow and Public Works Director Aaron Reed recommend the reappointment of John Pettit.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends the reappointment of John Pettit for a term ending June 30, 2025, and the appointment of Travis Crow as Committee Chair for a term of one (1) year.

Attachments:

- 1. Request for Reappointment
- 2. Recommendation

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Notify members of Council decision
- 2. Update website and master roster