

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: July 19, 2022

Agenda Item Wording: Approval of the Appointment of Sharon Hamilton and Jimmy Brown to

the Transportation Committee for terms ending June 30, 2024; and the Appointment of Doug Crosson as the Planning & Zoning Commission

Representative for an unexpired term ending June 30, 2023.

Agenda Item Requestor: Gouri Johannsen, Farmers Market Committee Chair

Summary/Background: Member Responsibilities

Section 2.04.157 (a): The committee is responsible for organizing an inclusive process for assessing community needs and priorities in an orderly fashion and providing the council with guidance via a proposed transportation master plan that reflects the skills, creativity, vision, and cooperation of the committee, its members, and any advisors.

Member Selection

Section 2.04.155 (c): Every two years on even years starting in June 2014, city staff will prepare a slate of nominees for city council consideration. The slate will include nominees including but not limited to those with a background and experience in civil engineering, land/transportation planning, real estate/development, business ownership, and alternative mobility. The slate will only include individuals that city staff has contacted and who have expressed an interest and availability to serve. Potential nominees may express interest in the committee by contacting the city secretary in writing.

Membership Requirements

Resident of City or ETJ, at least one public member must be a city resident.

Officer Appointments

Section 2.04.155 (a): The committee will have eight voting members, one of whom will be the committee chair appointed by the city council. A vice-chair will be selected by the chair and approved by a majority of the transportation committee members. The vice-chair will serve as the chair in the absence of the chair.

Membership

The Commission shall consist of eight voting members, four of which are municipal members (MM), and three public members (PM).

Municipal Members

- 1 City Council Member
- 1 Planning & Zoning Commission member
- 1 Public Works Coordinator / Director
- 1 City Engineer

Public Members

- 1 At-large city resident
- 2 At-large city or ETJ resident

Current Committee

Member	Term	City/ETJ	Background
Travis Crow, Chair	06/30/23	City	City Council Member
Barrett Criswell	06/30/22	ETJ	Sales (At-Large)
Sharon Hamilton	06/30/22	EJT	Engineering (At-Large)
John Pettit	06/30/23	City	Real Estate (At-Large)
Jim Martin	06/30/23	ETJ	P&Z Representative
Chad Gilpin	NA		City Engineer
Aaron Reed	NA		Public Works Director
Ben Sorrell	NA		Advisory Member

Vacancies and Applicants

There are two members with terms that expire June 30, 2022, with Jim Martin stepping down from the Planning & Zoning Commission and Barrett Criswell resigning from the Committee.

Applications for appointment/reappointment were due May 31, 2022. And were reviewed for required qualifications, applicants not qualified were notified on June 6, 2022.

The City received one application and one request for reappointment from Sharon Hamilton.

Committee Recommendation:

Chair Travis Crow and Council Member Geoffrey Tahuahua interviewed Jimmy Brown and have recommended his appointment as well as the reappointment of Sharon Hamilton.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends the appointment of Jimmy Brown and Sharon Hamilton for terms ending June 30, 2024 and the appointment of Doug Crosson as the Planning & Zoning Commission Representative for an unexpired term ending June 30, 2023.

Attachments:

- 1. Application for Appointment
- 2. Request for Reappointment
- 3. Resignation

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Notify applicants of Council decision welcome letters and denial letters
- 2. Update website and master roster
- 3. Notify commission of appointments and send updated roster
- 4. Send calendar invite to appointees