

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: December 7, 2021

Discuss and consider approval of the Appointment of Bonnie Humphrey, **Agenda Item Wording:**

> Bill Little, Gordon DeWitte and Russell Paxton to the Emergency Management Commission for terms ending January 1, 2024; and Appointment of a Chair and Vice Chair to serve for a term concurrent

with their respective seat expiration.

Agenda Item Requestor: Bonnie Humphrey, Emergency Management Commission Chair

Summary/Background: The Emergency Management Commission is a twelve-member advisory commission tasked with recommending policies and the application of policies for the development and implementation of an emergency management plan for the city and ETJ. The Committee is responsible for development, implementation, and review of the city's emergency management planning for disasters. The Committee is also responsible for providing information and training on emergency management response.

> Members of the Emergency Management Commission are selected at-large (3 seats), and as representatives of the following organizations that are integral in the operation of the Emergency Management Program:

- 2 seats Emergency Response (Fire, EMS, Law Enforcement)
- 1 seat Business Community
- 1 seat Dripping Springs Independent School District
- 1 seat Nonprofit Organization
- 1 seat Volunteer Services Organization
- 1 seat City of Dripping Springs Emergency Planning Coordinator
- 1 seat Hays County Representative
- 1 seat Hays County Precinct No. 4 Constable

Current Commission Membership

Member	Term	Seat Description
Roman Baligad	NA	EM Coordinator
Scott Collard	1/1/23	Emergency Response

Doug Fowler	1/1/23	Emergency Response
Bonnie Humphrey, Chair	1/1/22	Business Community
Russell Paxton	1/1/22	Nonprofit Organization
Gordon DeWitte	1/1/22	Volunteer Services
Mike Jones	1/1/22	Hays County Representative
Ron Hood	1/1/23	Precinct 4 Constable
Kay Allen	1/1/23	At-Large
Bill Little, Vice Chair	1/1/22	At-Large
Dillon Polk	1/1/23	At-Large
Vacancy 1	1/1/22	DSISD Representative

No applications for this Commission have been received and all members have requested reappointment.

Additionally, the City Council is responsible for appointing the chair and vice chair from the current membership.

Commission Recommendations:

Chair Humphrey has recommended reappointment of all expiring members.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends reappointment of Bonnie Humphrey, Russell Paxton, Gordon DeWitte, Mike Jones, and Bill Little for terms ending January 1, 2024. The selectin of the chair and vice chair are at the pleasure of the City Council.

Attachments:

NA

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Notify applicants of Council decision welcome letters and denial letters
- 2. Update website and master roster
- 3. Notify commission of appointments and send updated roster
- 4. Send calendar invite to appointees