

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: June 20, 2023

Agenda Item Wording: Discuss and consider the Appointment of four (4) members to the

Planning & Zoning Commission for terms ending June 30, 2024, and the Appointment of the Planning & Zoning Commission Chair for a term of

one (1) year.

Agenda Item Requestor: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Summary/Background: Member Responsibilities

The P&Z shall have all the rights, powers, privileges and authority authorized and granted by the city council and through the statutes of the State of Texas authorizing and granting cities the power of zoning and subdivision regulation as found in chapters 211 and 212 of the Texas Local Government Code, as may be amended.

The P&Z shall be an advisory body and adjunct to the city council and shall make recommendations regarding amendments to the comprehensive plan, changes of zoning, zoning ordinance amendments, and zoning to be given to newly annexed areas, and shall make recommendations regarding the approval of plats of subdivisions as may be submitted to it for review and other planning related matters delegated to the P&Z by the city council.

Member Selection

There is created, in accordance with chapter 211 of the Texas Local Government Code, the "planning and zoning commission," hereafter sometimes referred to as the "P&Z," which shall consist of seven members. A minimum of two of the members shall be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs. As many as two of the members may be ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County. The remaining three members of the P&Z shall be at-large and may either be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs, or ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County.

Membership Requirements

- 1. Registered voter of Hays County
- 2. City or ETJ resident

Officer Appointments

The city council shall appoint a chairman from among the membership of the P&Z. The P&Z shall elect from among its membership, a vice-chairperson. The P&Z may elect from among its membership a secretary. Each officer shall hold office for one year or until replaced. The P&Z, at its first meeting on or after June, shall select all the positions.

The P&Z shall also select a member to serve as representative on the Transportation Committee.

Membership

The Commission shall consist of seven members. A minimum of two of the members shall be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs. As many as two of the members may be ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County. The remaining three members of the P&Z shall be at-large, and may either be residents and registered voters of the City of Dripping Springs, or ETJ residents who are registered voters of Hays County.

Members of the P&Z may serve simultaneously on any other city board or commission, except for the city council or the board of adjustment.

Current Members

Member	Term	Residency	Background
Mim James, Chair	6/30/23	ETJ	Oil & Gas
Tammie Williamson, Vice Chair	06/30/24	City	Planning
Christian Bourguignon	6/30/23	City	General Contractor
John McIntosh	6/30/23	City	Business Owner
Evelyn Strong	06/30/24	ETJ	Real Estate
Douglas Shumway	06/30/24	ETJ	Attorney
Doug Crosson	6/30/23	ETJ	Real Estate/Development

Seat Expirations

There are four (4) members with terms that expire June 30, 2023.

- Chair Mim James
- Christian Bourguignon
- John McIntosh
- Doug Crosson

Applicants

Current members with seat expirations were notified April 4, 2023, with a response deadline of May 1, 2023. Public notice of application submission deadline was posted in the Century News April 14, 2023, with a submission deadline of May 12, 2023.

All current members, with the exception of John McIntosh, requested reappointment, and three (3) qualified applications were received. One applicant applied was not qualified due to jurisdiction, there were outside the city limits and ETJ.

Slate of Candidates

Member	Residency	Status	Background
Mim James	ЕТЈ	Current Chair	Oil & Gas
Christian Bourguignon	City	Current Member	General Contractor
Doug Crosson	ETJ	Current Member	Real Estate Development
Eugene Foster	ETJ	Applicant	Environmental Engineer Consultant
Alan Hutchinson	City	Applicant	Portfolio Manager
Luke Caraway	City	Applicant	Land Development Engineer

***PLEASE NOTE:

- Applicant Alan Hutchinson applied to several boards, commissions and committees listing PZC as his 5th option and is being considered and interviewed for other opportunities
- Applicant Luke Caraway submitted the application past the deadline and after the conclusion of the interview process, he is also being considered and interviewed for other opportunities

Commission Recommendations:

Chair James and Vice Chair Williamson recommend the reappointment of Mim James, Christian Bourguignon and Doug Crosson and the appointment of Eugene Foster for terms ending June 30, 2025.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends the appointment of Mim James as the Planning & Zoning Commission Chair for a term of one (1) year and the reappointment of Mim James, Christian Bourguignon and Doug Crosson and the appointment of Eugene Foster for terms ending June 30, 2025.

Attachments:

- 1. Commission Chair recommendation
- 2. Reappointment Request
- 3. Submitted Applications

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Inform new member of appointment and distribute letters to those not appointment.
- 2. Update website and roster
- 3. Send welcome letter appointee and notification to commission