OF DRIPPING SPREAD	STAFF REPORT City of Dripping Springs PO Box 384 511 Mercer Street Dripping Springs, TX 78620		
Submitted By:	Diana Boone, City Secretary		
Council Meeting Date:	June 18, 2024		
Agenda Item Wording:	Discuss and consider approval of the Reappointment of Dean Erickson and Haley Hunt, and the Appointment of Gwyn Sommerfeld to the Historic Preservation Commission for terms ending June 30, 2026.		
Agenda Item Requestor:	Michelle Fischer, City Administrator & Commission Liaison		
Summary/Background:	The Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) is a 7 member commission tasked with making recommendations to City Council regarding Historic Preservation Items including but not limited to designation of historic places, preparation of historic district guidelines and review of concept site plans with all historic zoning districts. The HPC is also responsible for the review and approval or denial of Certificates of Appropriateness in the Historic Districts. Members of the HPC are those that have an interest in historic preservation and expertise related to those activities. There are no residency or professional requirements, however, the city does seek to appoint residents of the city limits or ETJ and those in the categories listed below: • Architect, Planner, or Design Professional • Historian, Anthropologist Geographer or Archaeologist • Licenced Real Estate broker or appraiser		
	 Licensed Real Estate broker or appraiser Attorney at Law Historic District Business or Property Owner Member of the Hays Historical Society 		
	Vacancies There are three members with an expiring term as highlighted in the Current Membership Chart. With the exception of Minnie Glosson-Needham, all expiring members have requested reappointment.		
	Expiring members were notified in April and applications were accepted through August – 4 applications were received for the 1 open seat. Chair Dean Erickson, Vice Chair Ashley Bobel and Mayor Pro Tem Taline Manassian conducted interviews of the applicants.		

Current Membership

Chair, Dean Erickson	06/30/2024	HD Business Owner
Vice Chair, Ashley Bobel	06/30/2025	Real Estate Broker
Delbert Bassett	06/30/2025	Hays Historical Society Member
Minnie Glosson-Needham	06/30/2024	Historian
Haley Hunt	06/30/2024	HD Business Owner
Steve Mallet	06/30/2025	HD Property Owner
Richard Moore	06/30/2025	Architect
Michelle Fischer	NA	Historic Preservation Officer
whenche Pischel	INA	

Slate of Candidates

Lisa Garza	ETJ	Accountant
Alan Hutchinson	City	Portfolio Manager
Micah Gutierrez	Hays County	Real Estate Broker
Gwyn Sommerfeld	ETJ	HD Property Owner

Commission Recommendations: Chair Erickson recommends the appointment of Gwyn Sommerfeld for a term ending June 30, 2025.

Recommended Council Actions: Staff recommends city council appoint three individuals of their choosing.

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Send welcome letter to new appointee
- 2. Inform commission of appointments
- 3. Update website
- 4. Email individuals not selected