

512-268-2522 ■ Lex Word Building ■ 21001 IH 35 ■ Kyle, Texas 78640

#### **MEMORANDUM**

Received

AUG 19 2021

City of Dripping Springs

**TO: Voting Taxing Units** 

FROM: Laura Raven, Chief Appraiser

DATE: August 17, 2021

SUBJECT: Nomination of Appraisal District Directors and NEW INFORMATION

**DEADLINE** for Nominations: Before October 15, 2021

Our appraisal district is governed by a board of seven directors. Members of the board serve two-year terms beginning on January 1 of even numbered years. The Hays CAD board of directors usually meets the third Thursday of every month at the district office in Kyle.

If the county assessor-collector is not appointed to the board, the county assessor-collector serves as a nonvoting director.

In considering individuals to serve as directors, taxing units should look for expertise in such areas as business management, information systems, computers, accounting, finance, real estate and taxation.

Each taxing unit other than a conservation and reclamation district that is entitled to vote may nominate, by resolution adopted by its governing body, one candidate for each position to be filled on the board of directors. The presiding officer of the governing body of the unit shall submit the names of the unit's nominees to the chief appraiser <u>before October 15, 2021</u>. [Texas Property Tax Code, Section 6.03 (g)]

#### Please see Attached:

Directors Qualifications with new legislative changes Timetable for Hays CAD Board Member Election with new legislative changes Calculation of Votes

## **Appraisal District Director Qualifications:**

To be eligible to serve on the board of directors, an individual must be a resident of the district and must have resided in the district for at least two years immediately preceding the date he or she takes the office.

An individual who is otherwise eligible to serve on the board is not ineligible because of membership on the governing body of a taxing unit or because the individual is an elected official.

However, an employee of a taxing unit that participates in the district is not eligible to serve on the board unless the individual is also a member of the governing body or an elected official of a taxing unit that participates in the district.

#### **NEW LEGISLATIVE CHANGES**

For counties with populations of 120,000 or more, a member of the appraisal district board of directors may not serve more than five two-year terms. Effective Date: Service on the board of directors before January 1, 2022, does not count for purposes of determining whether a person is ineligible to serve on the board.

A person may not serve if he/she has engaged in appraising property for compensation in the preceding three years or has been an employee of the appraisal district in the preceding three years.

Section 6.03 is amended and in counties with populations of 120,000 or more a taxing unit with at least 5% of the vote must determine its votes by resolution at the first or second meeting after the date the chief appraiser delivers the ballot. That taxing unit must submit its resolution to the CAD not later than the 3rd day after the resolution is adopted. Applies to the election for board members for terms beginning January 1, 2022.

# Hays CAD Board Member Election TIMETABLE

Texas Property Tax Code, Section 6.03:

#### before October 1

The chief appraiser shall calculate the number of votes to which each taxing unit is entitled and shall deliver written notice to each of those units of its voting entitlement in the election of members to the Hays Central Appraisal District Board of Directors.

A governing body may cast all its votes for one candidate or distribute them among candidates for any number of directorships.

#### before October 15

The presiding officer of the governing body of the taxing unit shall submit the names of the unit's nominees to the chief appraiser.

#### before October 30

The chief appraiser shall prepare a ballot listing the candidates...and shall deliver a copy of the ballot to the presiding officer of the governing body of each taxing unit that is entitled to vote.

### before December 15

The governing body of each taxing unit that is entitled to vote shall determine its vote by resolution and submit it to the chief appraiser. \*A taxing unit with at least 5% of the vote must determine its votes by resolution at the first or second meeting after the date the chief appraiser delivers the ballot. That taxing unit must submit its resolution to the CAD not later than the 3rd day after the resolution is adopted.

#### before December 31

The chief appraiser shall count the votes, declare the seven candidates who receive the largest cumulative vote totals elected, and submit the results to the governing body of each taxing unit in the district and to the candidates.

## after January 1

Elected board members take the oaths of office at the first meeting and elect board officers.

## HAYS CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT CALCULATION OF VOTES 2022-2023 BOARD ELECTION

CODE	JURISDICTION	2020 TAX LEVY	VOTE PERCENTAGE	NUMBER OF VOTES
				7000
	ALISTIN COMMUNITY COLUEGE DIST	440 400 047 04	0.0101	404
1	AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE DIST	\$10,139,017.24	0.0191	134
2	CITY OF AUSTIN	\$861,941.33	0.0016	11
3	(CITY OF) VILLAGE OF BEAR CREEK	\$67,322.22	0.0001	1
4	CITY OF BUDA	\$6,828,529.18	0.0129	90
5	CITY OF DRIPPING SPRINGS	\$1,616,237.81	0.0030	21
6	CITY OF HAYS	\$17,616.34	0.0000	0
7	CITY OF KYLE	\$19,291,724.16	0.0364	255
8	CITY OF MOUNTAIN CITY	\$92,692.25	0.0002	1
9	CITY OF NIEDERWALD	\$59,793.31	0.0001	1
10	CITY OF SAN MARCOS	\$37,129,241.44	0.0700	490
11	CITY OF UHLAND	\$99,800.62	0.0002	1
12	CITY OF WOODCREEK	\$553,414.73	0.0010	7
13	HAYS COUNTY	\$111,324,810.94	0.2098	1,469
14	SPECIAL ROAD	***	0.0000	0
15	BLANCO ISD	\$768,942.69	0.0014	10
16	COMAL ISD	\$520,755.39	0.0010	7
17	DRIPPING SPRINGS ISD	\$87,476,243.02	0.1649	1,154
18	HAYS CISD	\$139,056,242.71	0.2621	1,835
19	JOHNSON CITY ISD	\$1,161,918.33	0.0022	15
20	SAN MARCOS CISD	\$79,870,820.03	0.1505	1,054
21	WIMBERLEY ISD	\$33,645,744.77	0.0634	444
		\$530,582,808.51	1.0000	7,000
	Report created 08/16/2021		***************************************	
	Levy after 2020 Supplement #12			
***	Levy included with Hays County	\$ 7,599,687.25		
	Laura Raven, Chief Appraiser			
	Hays Central Appraisal District			

