

# STAFF REPORT

# **City of Dripping Springs**

**PO Box 384** 

511 Mercer Street

**Dripping Springs, TX 78620** 

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

**Council Meeting Date:** August 1, 2023

Agenda Item Wording: Approval of the Reappointment of Kim Fernea, Becky Atkins, Melanie

Fenelon and Whit Hanks, and the Appointment of Lucy Hanson to the Economic Development Committee for terms ending June 30, 2025; and, the Appointment of Kim Fernea as the Committee Chair for a term

ending June 1, 2024.

**Agenda Item Requestor:** Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

#### Summary/Background: EDC Member Responsibilities

Section 2.04.037: The committee is responsible for organizing an inclusive process for assessing community needs and priorities in an orderly fashion and providing the council with guidance via a proposed economic strategic plan that reflects the skills, creativity, vision, and cooperation of the committee, its members, and its advisors. After the final economic strategic plan is presented to city council, the committee will continue to advise the council on carrying out the plan. The city council may at a future date consider the economic strategic plan ready for revision or replacement, at which time the economic strategic plan drafting process described below will begin again.

#### **Member Selection**

Section 2.04.035(c): As vacancies occur, city staff will prepare a slate of nominees for city council consideration. The slate will include nominees from various citizen groups, including but not limited to historic preservationists, planners, park supporters, the business community, school districts, media, nonprofits, county representatives, and property owners. The slate will only include individuals that city staff has contacted and who have expressed an interest and availability to serve. Potential nominees may express interest in the committee by contacting the city secretary in writing. City staff will endeavor to reflect a variety of interests and diverse points of view (current and future) in the list of committee nominees. The city council will approve, reject, or modify the list.

### Membership Requirements

There are no membership requirements for this committee other than those listed in membership selection.

#### Membership

The committee will have 12 members, one of whom will be the committee chair appointed by the city council. The committee may have subcommittees of at least three members, one of whom will be the subcommittee chair designated by the

subcommittee at its first meeting. Subcommittees may invite input from non-committee members.

### Officer Appointments

The City Council shall appoint the Chair of the Committee and other officers may be appointed by the Committee as they see fit.

### **Current Members**

Member	Term	Residency	Citizen Group
Kim Fernea, Chair	06/01/23	ETJ	<b>Business Community</b>
Sherrie Parks	06/01/24	City	Council Member Place 5
Rex Baker	06/01/24	ETJ	Business Community
VACANCY	06/01/23	NA	DSISD Representative
Dave Edwards	06/01/23	ETJ	Nonprofit
Melanie Fenelon	06/01/23	City	<b>Property Owner</b>
Whit Hanks	06/01/23	ETJ	<b>Property Owner</b>
Susan Kimball	06/01/24	NA	Chamber of Commerce
John Kroll	06/01/24	City	Property Owner
Russell Collins	06/01/24	ETJ	Real Estate Developer
Robert Avera	06/01/24	NA	Business Community
Keenan Smith	06/01/23	NA	Planner
Jeff Nydegger Advisory Member	NA	NA	NA

# **Seat Expirations & Vacancies**

There are five (5) members with terms that expire June 1, 2023, and one (1) current vacancy for a DSISD representative with a term ending June 1, 2024.

- Chair Kim Fernea, Business Community
- Becky Atkins, Business Community
- Melanie Fenelon, Property Owner
- Whit Hanks, Property Owner
- Keenan Smith, Planner
- VACANCY, DSISD Representative

### **Applicants**

Current members with seat expirations were notified April 4, 2023, with a response deadline of May 1, 2023. Public notice of application submission deadline was posted in the Century News April 14, 2023, with a submission deadline of May 12, 2023. All current members, with the exception of Keenan Smith, requested reappointment, and two (2) applications were received.

### Slate of Candidates

Name	Residency	Status	Citizen Group
Kim Fernea, Chair	ETJ	Current Member	Business Community
Becky Atkins	ETJ	Current Member	Business Community
Melanie Fenelon	City	Current Member	Property Owner
Whit Hanks	ETJ	Current Member	Property Owner
Lucy Hanson	ЕТЈ	Applicant	DSISD Representative
VACANCY			

**Committee Chair Recommendations:** 

Committee Chair Kim Fernea recommends approval of reappointments and the appointment of Lucy Hanson as the DSISD Representative. At this time she is working on filling the vacancy and will review applications as they are filed.

**Recommended Council Actions:** 

Staff recommends approval of the reappointment of Kim Fernea, Becky Atkins, Melanie Fenelon and Whit Hanks, and the appointment of Lucy Hanson.

**Attachments:** 

- 1. Reappointment Requests
- 2. Lucy Hanson Application
- 3. Keenan Smith Resignation

**Next Steps/Schedule:** 

- 1. Inform applicants of Council decision
- 2. Update roster and website
- 3. Send welcome letter and calendar invites
- 4. Introduction email to Committee