

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: October 17, 2023

Agenda Item Wording: Approval of the Reappointment of at-large members Lara Dudek and

Matthew Ordway, and the Appointment of Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District representative Barney Austin, to the Utility Commission for terms ending June 30, 2025. Sponsor: Mayor Bill Foulds,

Jr.

Agenda Item Requestor: Aaron Reed, Public Works Director

Summary/Background: Member Responsibilities

Section 2.04.282

This division provides standards for the formation, function, and responsibilities of a commission tasked with representing various citizen groups and their interests as part of the city council's greater discussion of transportation, planning, and improvements. The commission is formed to:

- (1) Assist the city in its wastewater plant operations and reuse plans, including expansion.
- (2) Assist the city in achieving its goal of 100 percent beneficial reuse.
- (3) Assist the city in achieving its goal of not discharging effluent at any time.
- (4) Assist the city with procedures and policies related to retail water services provided by the city.

Member Selection

Section 2.04.284 (c)

This division provides standards for the formation, function, and responsibilities of a commission tasked with representing various citizen groups and their interests as part of the city council's greater discussion of transportation, planning, and improvements. The commission is formed to:

- (1) Assist the city in its wastewater plant operations and reuse plans, including expansion.
- (2) Assist the city in achieving its goal of 100 percent beneficial reuse.
- (3) Assist the city in achieving its goal of not discharging effluent at any time.
- (4) Assist the city with procedures and policies related to retail water services provided by the city.

Membership Requirements

Resident of City or ETJ, at least two members must be city residents.

Officer Appointments

The City Council shall appoint the chair and the commission selects the vice chair.

<u>Membership</u>

The Commission shall consist of 5 members with 2 of those members selected from recommendations provided by the Hays Trinity Groundwater Conservation District.

Current Membership

Member	Term	Seat Description
Charlie Busbey, Chair	06/30/24	At-Large
Matthew Ordway	06/30/23	At-Large
Lara Dudek	06/30/23	At-Large
Roger Kew	06/30/23	HTGCD
Mark Miller	06/30/24	HTGCD

Vacancies & Appointments

There are three (3) expired seats- 1 HTGCD Representative and 2 At-Large.

I received requests for reappointment from Lara and Matthew. HTGCD General Manager has submitted Barney Austin for their representative. Also received were applications from Zach West and Like Caraway.

Mayor Foulds, Aaron Reed, and Charlie Busbey interviewed the HTGCD Thursday, September 28th.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff recommends the reappointment of Matthew Ordway and Lara Dudek and the appointment of Barney Austin for terms ending June 30, 2025.

Attachments:

- 1. HTGCD Recommendation
- 2. Request for Reappointment & Received Applications

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Inform applicants of Council decision
- 2. Update roster and website
- 3. Email commission on appointments