

STAFF REPORT

City of Dripping Springs

PO Box 384

511 Mercer Street

Dripping Springs, TX 78620

Submitted By: Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary

Council Meeting Date: January 16, 2024

Agenda Item Wording: Discuss and consider the reappointment of DSISD Representative

Sirenna Cumberland and Hays County Emergency Management Director Mike Jones; the appointment of Chamber of Commerce Representative Thomas Lengel; and, the appointment of At-Large members to the Emergency Management Commission for terms ending

January 1, 2026.

Agenda Item Requestor: Roman Baligad, Emergency Management Coordinator

Summary/Background:

The Emergency Management Commission is a twelve-member advisory commission tasked with recommending policies and the application of policies for the development and implementation of an emergency management plan for the city and ETJ. The Commission is responsible for development, implementation, and review of the city's emergency management planning for disasters and is responsible for providing information and training on emergency management response.

Members of the Emergency Management Commission are appointed by the City Council and serve a two-year term, with no limit to the number of terms served. Members are appointed accordingly:

- 1 seat: City Emergency Management Coordinator
- 1 seat: Chamber of Commerce Representative
- 1 seat: Non-Profit Representative
- 1 seat: Hays County Constable or designee
- 1 seat: Emergency Services District 1 Representative
- 1 seat: Emergency Services District 6 Representative
- 1 seat: Dripping Springs Independent School District Representative
- 1 seat: Hays County Fire Marshal or designee
- 1 seat: Hays County Emergency Services Representative
- 3 seats: At-Large, Hays County Resident

In December, the City received notice that the 3 at-large members would not be seeking reappointment or are resigning. Additionally, the Nonprofit Representative has not responded to emails regarding membership and has been absent several meetings since appointment and per the City Ordinance,

has vacated their seat per Section 2.04.195(f)(2): A failure to attend three or more sequential commission meetings without approval from the chair will constitute a de facto notification of intent to resign.

Current Membership

Member	Seat	Term
Bonnie Humphrey, Chair	Chamber Representative	January 1, 2024
Bill Little, Vice Chair	At-Large	January 1, 2024
Roman Baligad	City EMC	NA
Russell Paxton	Nonprofit Representative	January 1, 2024
Ron Hood	Constable Precinct 4	January 1, 2025
Scott Collard	ESD 6 Representative	January 1, 2025
Bob Luddy	ESD 1 Representative	January 1, 2025
Sirenna Cumberland	DSISD Representative	January 1, 2024
Dillon Polk	Fire Marshal Representative	January 1, 2025
Mike Jones	Hays County EM Representative	January 1, 2024
Gordon DeWitte	At-Large	January 1, 2024
Jason McNutt	At-Large	January 1, 2025

Seat Vacancies & Appointments

<u>Chamber Representative:</u> Bonnie Humphrey is resigning. Current Chamber President Susan Kimball has nominated Thomas Lengel for this seat.

Nonprofit Representative: This seat is being vacated by Russell Paxton due to Section 2.04.195 regarding attendance. There are no applicants at this time for this seat.

<u>DSISD Representative:</u> DSISD Director of Safety Sirenna Cumberland is seeking reappointment.

<u>Hays County EM Representative:</u> Hays County Director of the Office of Emergency Management Mike Jones is seeking reappointment.

<u>Citizen At-Large:</u> There are 3 vacancies, and the City has received 3 applications for these seats: Sandra Barber, Alan Hutchinson, and Ray

Sanchez. Applicants were interviewed by Emergency Management Coordinator Roman Baligad and/or Chair Bonnie Humphrey.

Commission Recommendations: Outgoing Chair Bonnie Humphrey is recommending reappointment of the DSISD and County representatives, and the appointment of Ray Sanchez as a Citizen At-Large member.

Recommended Council Actions:

Staff also recommends appointments as stated above.

***Please Note: Staff is considering restructure this Commission which will be brought to City Council for consideration at the February 6, 2024, regular meeting. At this time additional appointments will be brought for consideration, to include additional appointments for the remaining City At-Large seats.

Attachments:

- 1. Thomas Lengel, Chamber Representative Application
- 2. Sandra Barber, Citizen At-Large
- 3. Alan Hutchinson, Citizen At-Large
- 4. Ray Sanchez, Citizen At-Large

Next Steps/Schedule:

- 1. Inform applicants of Council decision
- 2. Update roster and city website
- 3. Send welcome email and notify members of appointment