States TEXAS	STAFF REPORT City of Dripping Springs PO Box 384 511 Mercer Street Dripping Springs, TX 78620
Submitted By:	Andrea Cunningham, City Secretary
Meeting Date: Agenda Item Wording:	December 6, 2022 Discuss and consider the Appointment of five (5) individuals to the Emergency Management Commission for terms ending January 1, 2024.

Agenda Item Requestor: Roman Baligad, Emergency Management Coordinator

Summary/Background:	<u>Member Responsibilities</u>
• 0	Section2.04.196.1:
	<ul> <li>(a) The commission shall advise the city council on recommended policies and application of policies for the development and implementation of an emergency management plan for the city and ETJ.</li> <li>(b) The commission shall advise the city council on recommended interlocal, and mutual aid agreements related to emergency management operations in preparation for, during, and after a disaster or state of emergency.</li> </ul>
	(c) The commission shall review and evaluate all current municipal ordinances of the city, identify provisions that relate to or apply to emergency management, and make recommendations to the city council for needed changes and/or additions.
	(d) The commission shall manage, staff, and operate an area emergency operations center when disaster, major incident, or event dictates that level of support to first responders in accordance with the approved City Emergency Management Plan, state law, and county and state plans as applicable.
	<ul><li>(e) Identify and engage in protection, prevention, mitigation, response, and recovery planning and activities related to local conditions and needs.</li><li>(f) Recommend an annual operating budget for emergency management</li></ul>
	services with the assistance of the emergency management coordinator to the city council each fiscal year.
	<u>Member Selection</u>
	Section 2.04.195(e):
	<ul> <li>(1) Each year staff will prepare a slate of nominees for city council consideration. The slate will include nominees with a background and experience in those activities related to emergency management. The chair shall provide a recommendation for members seeking appointment or reappointment.</li> <li>(2) The idea is the theorem in the state of the late of the state of the state.</li> </ul>
	(2) The city council shall approve, reject, or modify the slate of nominees.

# Membership Requirements

# Section 2.04.195(c)(1):

- (1) The commission shall have 12 voting members,
  - (A) Three at-large members that shall be reside within Hays County.
  - (B) One each.
    - (i.) Municipal member designated as emergency management coordinator;
    - (ii.) Chamber of commerce representative;
    - (iii.) Nonprofit organization;
    - (iv.) Hays County Constable or designee;
    - (v.) Emergency Services District Number 1 representative;
    - (vi.) Emergency Services District Number 6 representative;
    - (vii.) Hays County Emergency Manager or designee;
    - (viii.) Dripping Springs Independent School District; and
    - (ix.) Hays County Fire Marshal or designee.

## **Officer** Appointments

**Section 2.04.195(d)(2):** The chair and vice-chair shall be appointed by the city council and serve a one-year term. There is no limit to the number of terms the chair or vice-chair may serve. In the event that the chair or vice-chair are absent, the emergency management coordinator will preside.

The Chair and Vice Chair were recently appointed, so the commission will revisit this recommendation in November 2023.

Member	Term	Seat Description (old ordinance)
Bonnie Humphrey, Chair	01/01/24	Chamber Representative
Bill Little, Vice Chair	01/01/24	At-Large
Roman Baligad	N/A	Emergency Management Coordinator
Scott Collard	01/01/23	ESD 6 Representative
Gordon DeWitte	01/01/24	At-Large
Doug Fowler	01/01/23	ESD 1 Representative
Ron Hood	01/01/23	Precinct 4 Constable
Mike Jones	01/01/24	Hays County Representative
Jason McNutt	01/01/23	At-Large
Russell Paxton	01/01/24	Nonprofit Organization
Dillon Polk	01/01/23	Fire Marshal Representative
Sirenna Cumberland	01/01/24	DSISD Representative

#### Current Membership

### Vacancies and Applicants

There are five (5) members with expiring terms, and all have requested reappointment. All five (5) members are in good standing with the commission.

	One application for appointment has been received by Alan Hutchinson, who is a city resident and is qualified for the At-Large position. Because all current members requested reappointment, the Commission opted to not interview applicant. This applicant has applied to multiple boards, commissions and/or committees.	
Commission Recommendations:	At the October 20, 2022, EMC regular meeting, the Commission unanimously recommended the reappointment of Scott Collard, Doug Fowler, Ron Hood, Jason McNutt and Dillion Polk.	
City Council Recommendations:	Staff recommends the reappointment of Scott Collard, Doug Fowler, Ron Hood, Jason McNutt and Dillion Polk.	
Attachments:	1. Alan Hutchinson Application	
Next Steps/Schedule:	<ol> <li>Inform commission of City Council decision.</li> </ol>	

2. Update website and roster.